Can you convert an RCA cable to speaker wire? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 29 Old 08-29-2010, 07:06 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On the back of my receiver Zone 2 section, it takes red/white cables that plug in. I apologize for my lingo as I'm a complete newbie. Anyways, it plugs in there, but to my surround sound I have to input speaker wire. Can I cut the plugs off one end of the cables to use as speaker wire, or how do I convert the ends?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 29 Old 08-29-2010, 10:36 PM

DANGER WILL ROBINSON DANGER! RCA jacks generally mean a LOW LEVEL input/output. Speaker terminals are high-level. You DO NOT want to reamplify a high-level signal.

A low level output will not drive a speaker.

The folks that came up with these standards are often ignored by folks that dream up cheap HTIB, some of which may use RCA jacks for pretty much everything, but you REALLY do not want to mix a HTIB with a more capable receiver, AV or audio only...
post #3 of 29 Old 08-30-2010, 02:18 AM

Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by renov8r View Post

DANGER WILL ROBINSON DANGER!

post #4 of 29 Old 08-30-2010, 06:49 AM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 14
It sounds like he's [trying] to go the other way around though, no? Like line-level output to speaker level input (or directly to the speakers)? In this case there isn't really any danger but you aren't really going to get any sound that way, lol.
post #5 of 29 Old 08-30-2010, 06:52 AM
AVS Addicted Member

Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by lefty78 View Post

On the back of my receiver Zone 2 section, it takes red/white cables that plug in. I apologize for my lingo as I'm a complete newbie. Anyways, it plugs in there, but to my surround sound I have to input speaker wire. Can I cut the plugs off one end of the cables to use as speaker wire, or how do I convert the ends?

Not a good idea .. speaker wire is cheap .. get some