I need some advice about upgrading... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 15 Old 10-01-2010, 07:06 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hello everyone,

I need some advice on my current system and also upgrading them pretty soon. I am fairly new at this but am picking up speed quick and learning a lot from all of you guys.

Current Setup
Definitive Technology Mythos 1's for front towers, a LCR3002 for a center, Prosub1000, and 4 promonitor 800's for rears. It is being all powered by a Denon 2308CI amp.

Option #1
Bowers and Wilkins CM9s for front towers, CMC2 for center channel, ASW10 for a sub and probably hold off on rears for now because my bank account will need to recoop but eventually some bookshelves. All keeping it powered by the Denon 2308CI.

Option #2
Martin Logan 8'' Electrostatic source towers for front towers, Motif center channel, dynamo 700 subwoofer and motion 4's for the rears. again keeping the system powered with the Denon 2308CI.

I primarily watch sports and movies and listen to music on CD. I am 22 years old and listen to my music fairly loud when i demo my speakers. I am just asking for some helpful advice and opinions on what any of you would do in my situation and a reason why. I plan on selling my Def Tech bundle so once i make the decision its done.

Thank you ahead of time guys.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 10-03-2010, 07:23 AM - Thread Starter

Bump
post #3 of 15 Old 10-03-2010, 01:20 PM
FOH
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 206
I offer up no specifics, however some general guidelines. For HT usage, I'd stay away from lower sensitivity speakers in general. The ML electrostats would produce very high levels of distortion products when driven at realistic HT playback levels.