Connecting Wii to Sony STR-DH510 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 10-18-2010, 03:23 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
lichfiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all, I just have a short question to which I've been digging around for answers. I recently purchased a Sony STR-DH510 receiver and initial setup was mostly quick and easy, as mostly everything I use is connected via HDMI. I hadn't used my Wii in a little while, so didn't bother setting it up initially. Today I went to set up the Wii to play a new game, and I have gotten it to display video, but I can not set up audio. I currently have the Wii component cables going into the receiver's Component DVD IN slots, and have video running from the Component Out on the receiver to the Component 1 input on my Sony Bravia KDL-42V4100. The receiver does not have dedicated Audio inputs for Component inputs, so I am at a loss as to what to with Audio. I have tried multiple audio in ports on the receiver, and the only Audio out ports are lumped in with composite Video out ports. I am rather an amateur at this, so any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks for your time folks.

PS - I tried adding a link to what the back of the receiver looks like, but I can't before I have 3 posts. Thanks spammers
lichfiend is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 10-18-2010, 03:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,528
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Hi lichfiend, connect the Wii video component cables to SAT/CATV slot and Wii audio RCA cables (white & red) to SAT/CATV.
JChin is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 03-03-2012, 05:58 AM
Newbie
 
Elievar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

Just would like to know if you found a solution ?

Jchin it does not work for me.

My config :
Receiver -> HDMI -> TV
WII -> Component RCA -> Receiver (on sat catv / component in "2")
WII -> RCA red and white -> Receiver (on sat catv / audio in)
Sat catv is setted up to output the component "2" in the video menu.

I have the sound on my receiver, but no display.

It seams like receiver does not send component to the TV throuhout hdmi...

Could you help me to understand the problem ? Does my str 510 could send component throuhout HDMI ?

Thanks in advance,

Elievar
Elievar is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 03-03-2012, 06:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,528
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elievar View Post

Jchin it does not work for me.

My config :
Receiver -> HDMI -> TV
WII -> Component RCA -> Receiver (on sat catv / component in "2")
WII -> RCA red and white -> Receiver (on sat catv / audio in)
Sat catv is setted up to output the component "2" in the video menu.

I have the sound on my receiver, but no display.

It seams like receiver does not send component to the TV throuhout hdmi...

Could you help me to understand the problem ? Does my str 510 could send component throuhout HDMI ?

Thanks in advance,

Elievar

Hi Elievar, the DH510 model does not upconvert analog video to HDMI out. You'll need to connect a set of component video cable from "Monitor Out" jack to tv.
JChin is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 03-07-2012, 01:16 AM
Newbie
 
Elievar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you Jchin.

I'll find a component cables and test it ASAP.

But I'm little embarassed because I'll have to select manually component input on the TV, and component input on the receiver.
I'm not sure that HDMI-CEC of the receiver will send to TV to select component input itself...

Thanks Jchin for your explanations
Elievar is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 03-07-2012, 04:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,528
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 133
^^^ then get the Wii2HDMI and connect the Wii to receiver with a HDMI cable.
JChin is offline  
Reply Audio theory, Setup and Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off