Spdif audio output to Coaxial audio or optical audio input - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-29-2010, 03:57 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rocketman70433's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TV has spdif audio output, and I need to connect it to a theater in box.

The box has a coaxial audio & an optical audio input.

Is there any way I can connect them? What kind of cable do I need and does price matter?
rocketman70433 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-29-2010, 04:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,661
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 315
The TV probably has an optical (Toslink) output. Use that ...

You can get an inexpensive optical cable from:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/su...02&cp_id=10229
Ratman is offline  
Old 12-29-2010, 04:11 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rocketman70433's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post

The TV probably has an optical (Toslink) output. Use that ...

You can get an inexpensive optical cable from:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/su...02&cp_id=10229

How about this? I know it'll cost a lot more, but Im supposed to get her hooked up on Saturday.
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/AudioQue...link&cp=1&lp=1
rocketman70433 is offline  
Old 12-29-2010, 04:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 135
S/PDIF is the protocol being used, not the type of cable. Optical and digital coax connections both use S/PDIF. Get whichever type your TV has, most likely optical.

$40 is way too much to spend on a cable. Get it from a place like monoprice for just a couple of dollars. Same quality, much cheaper price.
BIslander is online now  
Old 12-29-2010, 04:29 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rocketman70433's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIslander View Post

S/PDIF is the protocol being used, not the type of cable. Optical and digital coax connections both use S/PDIF. Get whichever type your TV has, most likely optical.

$40 is way too much to spend on a cable. Get it from a place like monoprice for just a couple of dollars. Same quality, much cheaper price.

So an optical cable is an optical cable? What matters is what each end of the cable is connecting to?
rocketman70433 is offline  
Old 12-29-2010, 04:32 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocketman70433 View Post

So an optical cable is an optical cable? What matters is what each end of the cable is connecting to?

Yes, they're the same. Only difference is the outrageous markup on Best Buy's cable.

Monoprice delivers pretty fast depending on where you live, but if it HAS to be hooked up by Saturday, shop around a little. $40 for an optical is INSANE. I know I've found them for half that at stores, although I still would wait for Monoprice.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
Old 12-29-2010, 04:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mgkdragn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Illinois, East of St Louis
Posts: 10,870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 684
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocketman70433 View Post

So an optical cable is an optical cable? What matters is what each end of the cable is connecting to?

Yep .. in a pinch, I've even used a regular RCA (I'm not suggesting you do) .. Radio Shack would likely be cheaper on a TOSLINK than BB .. hell, I've seen them at Walmart ..

Uncle Willie


Oddball: Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves? Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here? Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?
mgkdragn is offline  
Old 12-29-2010, 04:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgkdragn View Post

Yep .. in a pinch, I've even used a regular RCA (I'm not suggesting you do) .. Radio Shack would likely be cheaper on a TOSLINK than BB .. hell, I've seen them at Walmart ..

A regular RCA can be used instead of digital coax, but not optical.
BIslander is online now  
Old 12-29-2010, 04:39 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rocketman70433's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So if I walk into radio shack, I'm going to ask the clerk for an optical cable? He'll know what I need based on that?
rocketman70433 is offline  
Old 12-29-2010, 04:40 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mgkdragn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Illinois, East of St Louis
Posts: 10,870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 684
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIslander View Post

A regular RCA can be used instead of digital coax, but not optical.

Yes, I should have clarified that .. thanks .. don't need someone attempting to shove an RCA in a TOSLINK hole .. not a pretty sight ..

Uncle Willie


Oddball: Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves? Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here? Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?
mgkdragn is offline  
Old 12-29-2010, 04:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mgkdragn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Illinois, East of St Louis
Posts: 10,870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 684
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocketman70433 View Post

So if I walk into radio shack, I'm going to ask the clerk for an optical cable? He'll know what I need based on that?

If he/she does not know, the World would be a sadder place ..

Uncle Willie


Oddball: Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves? Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here? Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?
mgkdragn is offline  
Old 12-29-2010, 04:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,494
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocketman70433 View Post

So if I walk into radio shack, I'm going to ask the clerk for an optical cable? He'll know what I need based on that?

He should but better to call it a digital audio optical cable or a TOSlink cable.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
Old 12-29-2010, 04:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocketman70433 View Post

So if I walk into radio shack, I'm going to ask the clerk for an optical cable? He'll know what I need based on that?

Make sure it has this type of end:



The connector might look slightly different, depending on brand, and there should be a little plastic cap on the end that you remove prior to connecting.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
Old 12-29-2010, 08:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DonH50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Monument CO
Posts: 6,343
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 258 Post(s)
Liked: 295
And, do NOT look into the pretty red light!

"After silence, that which best expresses the inexpressible, is music" - Aldous Huxley
DonH50 is offline  
Old 12-30-2010, 07:43 AM
 
razr67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonH50 View Post

And, do NOT look into the pretty red light!

Why not? It's a red LED, it won't hurt you.
razr67 is offline  
Old 12-30-2010, 09:10 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rocketman70433's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIslander View Post
S/PDIF is the protocol being used, not the type of cable. Optical and digital coax connections both use S/PDIF. Get whichever type your TV has, most likely optical.

$40 is way too much to spend on a cable. Get it from a place like monoprice for just a couple of dollars. Same quality, much cheaper price.
I dont know if the tv is optical or coax, won't know until I see the back of the TV on saturday.

If it isn't optical (meaning TOS link, right?), what else can I use to connect the 2? Someone mentioned something about using RCA to connect coax.
rocketman70433 is offline  
Old 12-30-2010, 09:14 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rocketman70433's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This might help

My friend has a Sony DAV-HDX285 theater in box.
Its inputs include:
* Analog Audio Input(s) : 1 (Rear-RCA) & 1 (Front-Mini Jack)
* Coaxial Audio Digital Input(s) : 1 (Rear)
* Component Video (Y/Pb/Pr) Output(s) : 1 (Rear)
* D.C.A.C. (Auto Calibration) : Yes
* Digital Media Port (Input) : Yes (TDM-iP20 included)
* Headphone Jack : 1 (Front- Mini Jack 3.5mm)
* Optical Audio Input(s) : 1 Rear
* Optical Audio Input(s) : 1 (Rear)
* Speaker Terminal : 6 DAV Clips (Rear- 2 Front/ 2 Surround/ 1 Center/ 1 Sub)


Her TV is a Visio SV420XVT1A
Those outputs include:
* 1 x Composite video/audio input ( RCA phono x 3 ) - Side
* 1 x Component video input ( RCA phono x 3 ) - Side
* 2 x HDMI ( 19 pin HDMI Type A ) - Side
* 2 x HDMI ( 19 pin HDMI Type A ) - Rear
* 3 x Audio line-in ( RCA phono x 2 ) - Rear
* 1 x Composite video input ( RCA phono ) - Rear
* 1 x Component video input ( RCA phono x 3 ) - Rear
* 1 x S-Video input ( 4 pin mini-DIN ) - Rear
* 1 x VGA input ( 15 pin HD D-Sub (HD-15) ) - Rear
* 1 x Audio line-in ( RCA phono x 2 ) - Rear
* 1 x SPDIF output ( TOSLINK ) - Rear

So I'm assuming that I have to use the TOS cable that people already suggested.
rocketman70433 is offline  
Old 12-30-2010, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whoaru99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Not saying TVs with coaxial digital output don't exist, but every one I've seen so far has optical/TOSlink output.

Just because there is a knob doesn't mean you should turn it.
whoaru99 is offline  
Old 12-30-2010, 09:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocketman70433 View Post
This might help

My friend has a Sony DAV-HDX285 theater in box.
Its inputs include:
* Analog Audio Input(s) : 1 (Rear-RCA) & 1 (Front-Mini Jack)
* Coaxial Audio Digital Input(s) : 1 (Rear)
* Component Video (Y/Pb/Pr) Output(s) : 1 (Rear)
* D.C.A.C. (Auto Calibration) : Yes
* Digital Media Port (Input) : Yes (TDM-iP20 included)
* Headphone Jack : 1 (Front- Mini Jack 3.5mm)
* Optical Audio Input(s) : 1 Rear
* Optical Audio Input(s) : 1 (Rear)
* Speaker Terminal : 6 DAV Clips (Rear- 2 Front/ 2 Surround/ 1 Center/ 1 Sub)


Her TV is a Visio SV420XVT1A
Those outputs include:
* 1 x Composite video/audio input ( RCA phono x 3 ) - Side
* 1 x Component video input ( RCA phono x 3 ) - Side
* 2 x HDMI ( 19 pin HDMI Type A ) - Side
* 2 x HDMI ( 19 pin HDMI Type A ) - Rear
* 3 x Audio line-in ( RCA phono x 2 ) - Rear
* 1 x Composite video input ( RCA phono ) - Rear
* 1 x Component video input ( RCA phono x 3 ) - Rear
* 1 x S-Video input ( 4 pin mini-DIN ) - Rear
* 1 x VGA input ( 15 pin HD D-Sub (HD-15) ) - Rear
* 1 x Audio line-in ( RCA phono x 2 ) - Rear
* 1 x SPDIF output ( TOSLINK ) - Rear

So I'm assuming that I have to use the TOS cable that people already suggested.
Yep. Connect the two bolded items with the cheapest optical cable you can find.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
Old 12-31-2010, 11:50 AM
Newbie
 
3toSea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a similiar question and thought I'd jump in on this thread. I need to connect the TOSlink optical out on my TV to the TOSlink optical in on my receiver. However, the TV is in the family room and the receiver is in another room in a rack.

This connection will hopefully solve the only gap in my A/V setup which is when I am streaming netflix via the TV internet connection, right now I can only use the TV speakers.

I have extra UTP and Coax runs - does anyone make a coverter from TOSlink to/from coax or UTP? I was hopeful that the TV would have a digital coax output but that was quickly dashed.
3toSea is offline  
Old 12-31-2010, 11:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mgkdragn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Illinois, East of St Louis
Posts: 10,870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 684
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3toSea View Post

I have a similiar question and thought I'd jump in on this thread. I need to connect the TOSlink optical out on my TV to the TOSlink optical in on my receiver. However, the TV is in the family room and the receiver is in another room in a rack.

This connection will hopefully solve the only gap in my A/V setup which is when I am streaming netflix via the TV internet connection, right now I can only use the TV speakers.

I have extra UTP and Coax runs - does anyone make a coverter from TOSlink to/from coax or UTP? I was hopeful that the TV would have a digital coax output but that was quickly dashed.

TOSLINK is optical / Coax is wire .. no way to make an adapter

Uncle Willie


Oddball: Why don't you knock it off with them negative waves? Why don't you dig how beautiful it is out here? Why don't you say something righteous and hopeful for a change?
mgkdragn is offline  
Old 12-31-2010, 12:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,661
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3toSea View Post

This connection will hopefully solve the only gap in my A/V setup which is when I am streaming netflix via the TV internet connection, right now I can only use the TV speakers.

I could be wrong, but I don't think NetFlix supports DD5.1 via streaming. So, no reason to use optical.

If you have two coax runs, just use F to RCA adapters for analog audio from TV to rack.
Ratman is offline  
Old 12-31-2010, 12:15 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,661
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgkdragn View Post

TOSLINK is optical / Coax is wire .. no way to make an adapter

There are adapters to convert Toslink to digital coax:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

Or....
Digital coax to Toslink:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
Ratman is offline  
Old 12-31-2010, 12:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post

I could be wrong, but I don't think NetFlix supports DD5.1 via streaming.

Some watch-it-now titles do, but I think the list is limited.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
Old 12-31-2010, 01:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,661
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 315
And again... I could be wrong, but perhaps that's only possible when using a PS3 as the interface.
Ratman is offline  
Old 12-31-2010, 01:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 135
It's only the PS3 now. But, it seems likely to expand to other equipment going forward.
BIslander is online now  
Old 12-31-2010, 01:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Tulpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 59
I can't see any reason why they wouldn't go forward with it. It just happens to be in its infancy right now.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
Old 12-31-2010, 01:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
whoaru99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 67
I get HD Netflix streaming on a Panny BD60, but I have yet to get one in DD5.1.

Just because there is a knob doesn't mean you should turn it.
whoaru99 is offline  
Old 12-31-2010, 02:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Netflix added DD+ as a firmware update for the PS3 in the fall. There have been no announcements regarding other devices. But, you have to think others will get it, too.
BIslander is online now  
Old 12-31-2010, 02:48 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,661
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tulpa View Post

I can't see any reason why they wouldn't go forward with it. It just happens to be in its infancy right now.

Other than bandwidth and a plethora of firmware updates to a large number of existing Netflix enabled devices, I agree, no reason.

Heck... they don't even make (but a few) TV's with DD5.1 passthrough.
Ratman is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off