connecting 8 ohm speaker to guitar jack - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 8 Old 01-21-2011, 04:01 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im making a "stompbox" basically a amplified drum to stomp while playing guitar, looked at numerous forums and youtube videos as well, i have a hollow wooden box, a 8 ohm speaker, and a guitar jack, i have very little knowledge when it comes to this. the guitar jack has a wire that splits into two, and im not sure if i can connect this to the speaker and if so not sure about + and - connections, any help is greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 01-21-2011, 05:15 PM

What are you trying to do?
post #3 of 8 Old 01-21-2011, 09:02 PM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by razr67 View Post

What are you trying to do?

Quote:
Originally Posted by astacy15 View Post

Im making a "stompbox" basically a amplified drum to stomp while playing guitar, looked at numerous forums and youtube videos as well, i have a hollow wooden box, a 8 ohm speaker, and a guitar jack, i have very little knowledge when it comes to this. the guitar jack has a wire that splits into two, and im not sure if i can connect this to the speaker and if so not sure about + and - connections, any help is greatly appreciated.

Some blues guitarists and folk guitarists use them.. Its basically just a wood box to tap your foot on, only amplified and plugged into a guitar amp... There are several different methods. Ive seen 1)microphones 2)guitar pickups and 3)home stereo speakers used. I saw a youtube video where the home stero speaker was used.. Im just not sure if i can connect a guitar jack to the home stereo speaker. Sorry, trying to explain the best i can with my limited knowledge. Basically connecting the speaker to the guitar jack then plug the guitar cable from the jack to the amp(like a normal guitar to a amp) this should in effect act as a bass drum you tap your foot on