Power to two larger speakers - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 25 Old 03-14-2011, 11:13 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I am a network engineer so I am a very technical person, however I am a noob when it comes to audio setup.

I have a question about my current setup. I have a relatively inexpensive receiver connected to 5 speakers (front L/R, center, rear L/R). I do not have a subwoofer connected. The front two left and right speakers are larger than the remaining speakers, they are 3-way speakers with 12" woofers. It seems to me that these front two speakers are underpowered and therefore do not produce the appropriate amount of bass.

The question I have is this: How can I supply extra power to these two speakers? Keep in mind that I am not very familiar with amps and pre-amp outputs, etc. I am willing to learn if someone is willing to help me learn.

I will inventory my setup when I get home this evening to provide additional details and specs.

Thank you.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 Old 03-14-2011, 01:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 134
1.Do not assume that the speakers are underpowered because they are larger. Larger speakers are often more efficient than smaller ones.

2.The easiest way is to get a better, more powerful AVR.

3.If your present AVR has preamp outputs (line-level, ~2V or so), you can connect the L/R outputs to a more powerful external amplifier. Just remember, you will have to re-balance the channel levels after you do this.

4.If your present AVR lacks preamp outputs, it is possible to add them but, probably, not worth the effort. See Option 2.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 25 Old 03-14-2011, 01:50 PM
Advanced Member

Liked: 11
Quote: