HTR-6090 to PC help needed! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 06-01-2011, 04:25 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
boglejam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm hoping someone can tell me what I am doing wrong. I am connecting my PC to a Yamaha HTR-6090 using an optical cable. The Display shows SUR. DECODE PRO LOGIC on the front of the tuner. Even thou I have a 5.1 setup, it is only showing a L and R speaker.

If I go into the properties panel of my sound card, I have DTS and Dolby Digital checked as supported, and when I play a test of either, the tuner display switches from PRO LOGIC to DTS or DOLBY DIGITAL while it plays the test, then goes back to PRO LOGIC once the test concludes.

Any ideas why I am only getting the surround sound support when I manually test it in the audio control panel on the PC and not all of the time?

I had a Yamaha HTR-3063 hooked to this PC earlier, and it worked right (showed all speakers on the display, full surround sound played) out of the box connected to this same PC.

Any help is much appreciated.
boglejam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 06-02-2011, 06:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
m_vanmeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Georgetown, KY
Posts: 5,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
in the Yamaha setup menu, does it "know" it still has 5 speakers and a sub attached ?
is the mode set to automatically determine what the input source is ?

if all else fails, check the manual for the receiver and do a "factory reset to default values" (usually holding two buttons down while the unit turns on)
m_vanmeter is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 06-02-2011, 09:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
amirm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Washington State
Posts: 18,082
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 753 Post(s)
Liked: 434
You need to check to see if your media player is decoding on the PC or sending out the bitstream as your test did.

Amir
Founder,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Insist on Quality Engineering"

amirm is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 06-03-2011, 04:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
walbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by boglejam View Post

I'm hoping someone can tell me what I am doing wrong. I am connecting my PC to a Yamaha HTR-6090 using an optical cable. The Display shows SUR. DECODE PRO LOGIC on the front of the tuner. Even thou I have a 5.1 setup, it is only showing a L and R speaker.

If I go into the properties panel of my sound card, I have DTS and Dolby Digital checked as supported, and when I play a test of either, the tuner display switches from PRO LOGIC to DTS or DOLBY DIGITAL while it plays the test, then goes back to PRO LOGIC once the test concludes.

Any ideas why I am only getting the surround sound support when I manually test it in the audio control panel on the PC and not all of the time?

I had a Yamaha HTR-3063 hooked to this PC earlier, and it worked right (showed all speakers on the display, full surround sound played) out of the box connected to this same PC.

Any help is much appreciated.

What are you playing back on the computer? Remember that the computer will only "want" to output things in their native format, so while it can output DTS and AC-3 (Dolby) files, if you're playing back stereo music you will only get stereo data to the receiver; Pro Logic or Neo:6 will be your options for re-mixing that into a quasi-surround program. Some soundcards may give you encoding/re-mixing options as well. If you put a multi-channel encoded source (a DVD with a 5.1 soundtrack, for example) into the computer and play that, does your receiver re-lock with AC-3 or DTS?

If you are playing back an encoded multi-channel source (DVD, ripped DVD, etc) and are getting stereo only, check your software player's output settings as Amir suggested.

If your goal is 5.1 via digital, from real-time rendered content (e.g video games - note that the game must support multi-channel, some games do not) you'll need Dolby Digital Live or DTS-Connect support on the computer's end, or multi-channel analog connections to the receiver/preamp.

Again, remember that if you're simply playing music from the computer this is almost certain to be stereo content and the computer will send that to the receiver as a stereo PCM bitstream - this is correct. If you want "noise from every speaker", use Pro Logic or some other program (Yamaha's CinemaDSP, DTS' DTS-Connect, etc).


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
walbert is offline  
Reply Audio theory, Setup and Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off