Energy Take Classic 5.1 SUB hookup??? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 11-20-2011, 05:58 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
LongJnSilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Need some help connecting my Energy sub (has dual mono female RCA inputs) to my Yamaha RX-V671 receiver which has a single female RCA plug.
Currently I'm using alittle 2-way male RCA Y-adapter - single male into the Yammy, both males of the Y into the sub.
Have tried every possible combo, including a single RCA cable into both R & L sub inputs, but the bass is weak in every configuration -- even with the sub hookup vol cranked up to 90%!
ADVICE???
Thanks! Johnny - LongJnSilver
LongJnSilver is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 11-20-2011, 06:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
WallyWest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Amish Country, PA
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How are the inputs on the sub labeled? One should say X-over, or crossover. That's the one you want to connect to the subwoofer output on your Yamaha. With a mono subwoofer cable. If it's just a left - right input use either one, not both. They're summed to mono in the amp anyway.

Then check your crossover settings in the Yamaha. Depends on your speakers to some degree but 80hz is the standard.

Also check your bass management settings in the Yamaha. Some configurations will bypass the subwoofer totally. Are you mostly using this for 2 channel audio or 5.1 home theater? (I guess a better question is do you notice the problem with 2 channel while movies are ok?)

And check the subwoofer level setting in the Yamaha. Start at zero, which is where it should be already if you haven't messed with it.

There should be two dials on the subwoofer amp. Volume and filter. Turn both all the way up.

From there if you need more output increase the subwoofer level in the Yamaha.
WallyWest is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 04-26-2012, 07:56 PM
Newbie
 
sun_in_india's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, I have the same exact problem. How did u resolve?
sun_in_india is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 12-05-2013, 01:28 PM
Newbie
 
pb3n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Same problem, looking for fix.

pb3n is offline  
Reply Audio theory, Setup and Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off