Vieracast only using TV speakers - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 12-05-2011, 10:28 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ihatevnecks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I just hooked up my Onkyo HT-RC260 to my Panasonic P50ST30, and I'm trying to get sound through my receiver/speakers when using the Vieracast apps (hulu plus, etc).

My TV is plugged into the receiver via HDMI, no separate optical audio cable.

Last night I'd been watching Hulu on my Roku, but I switched to Vcast because the Hulu and Amazon apps work better there (think my Roku's dying). I was on the input for the Roku and just hit the Vcast button on my Panasonic remote, and it continued to output audio through my speakers.

Jump to this morning, after having turned off the TV and the receiver last night, and it no longer works - I can only get TV speaker sound through Vcast regardless of what input I'm on. Everything else still works fine - it just switches when I go into Vcast.

What am I missing here?
ihatevnecks is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 12-05-2011, 10:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
m_vanmeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Georgetown, KY
Posts: 5,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
unless your TV has the ARC (audio return channel) in the HDMI output, it probably will not sent audio through the HDMI output connection (your TV has HDMI output ????). Your a/v receiver must be able to use ARC as well.

short time solution, use a optical cable between the TV and the receiver.
m_vanmeter is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 12-05-2011, 10:38 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ihatevnecks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I checked the TV's output, it does specifically list ARC. I assume it would have to since I got sound fine last night. I'm just confused why it worked without any settings tinkering then, but isn't this morning.

I've thought about buying the optical cable but didn't think it was needed due to me getting that sound fine last night.
ihatevnecks is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 12-05-2011, 02:09 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ihatevnecks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well just to update, looks like I will have to get that optical cable anyways.

I found the setting for forcing HDMI On on the Onkyo, which sends the audio through it instead of the TV speakers on the Vcast menu. Unfortunately though it only appears to be 2-channel and not 5.1. So that kind of defeats the purpose :/

Anyways, thanks again!
ihatevnecks is offline  
Reply Audio theory, Setup and Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off