building a home theater system...help before they close up the walls - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 9 Old 12-13-2011, 08:08 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am new to building a home theater system. from all the research i have all the setups for my 24'x17' living room/ breakfast nook.

I put all of the speaker wires in conduits, "smurf" tube. I am running 12/2 (cl2) awg to the 7 speaker locations and a rca line to the sub. to a 55 cu inch 3x gang with a 1.5" pvc to a single box for the hdmi (1.4 cl2).

I have a 55" Tv to be wall mounted with my "viewing distance" from 9 ft from the tv. All the angles i guess are right 0 (center), 30 (fronts), 110 (sides), 155( rears). Everything 9' from the viewing position except the sides they are about 7.5'. Sides and rear will be ceiling hung on a 10 ft ceiling. The fronts are at 48".

Am I on to the right track? I tried to futureproof my best for worst case scenario. and after they close the walls up no more moving!!

I ordered a pair of Energy rc mircos 5.0 ( 170!!!!!!!!!! from newegg) Will they be too small for the current setup??? I plan to maybe add energy takes for my front 3 use the micros for sides and rears and maybe add an esw-8 sub (300) with a denon avr-1912.

Thoughts opinions?? sorry for all the long post just wanted all the info i had!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 12-14-2011, 05:43 AM
AVS Addicted Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 249
All I would suggest is to add "pull strings" in the conduit. You never know if you want to add or change a wire/cable down the road. Makes it simple.
post #3 of 9 Old 12-14-2011, 05:55 AM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 20