how to connect the audio from tv in H/K BDS 570 speakers - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 26 Old 01-15-2012, 12:19 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mondragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi guys !
I just bought a state of the art harman kardon 5.1 home cinema BDS 870.
this system have a BDS 570 receiver.
I connected the receiver to tv set via the HDMI and I don't know the set up need it to have the sound from the TV in the speakers of the harman kardon trough the receiver.
Basicaly if i have the MTV channel on the tv, and Michael Jackson sings a song, I want to have his music in my 5.1 speakers.

what shoud I do ? I read the user manual of the receiver and there is nothing clear regarding the set up.

please see the pictures to see where I plugged the HDMI cable.
where is the cable plugged on the TV is wrote HDMI IN (DVI)
where is the cable plugged on the BDS receiver is wrote HDMI Monitor Out Connector and also ARC.

the TV set is a 32'' lcd samsung (2008-2009 model year)

please help because I'm a litle desperate.

thank you !

ps
please excuse my english.
LL
LL
mondragon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 Old 01-15-2012, 02:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
kmannth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The BDS 570 looks pretty cool btw

Just treat it like a receiver. It has video and audio switching in it.

The Simplest thing to do is to:

Plug your inputs you have to your TV into your receiver.

Plug your inputs (Xbox,PS3, Cable Box,what ever you have) into your Reciver. Use hdmi were you can and digital audio for the rest.

Then use the BDS 570 as the input selector instead of your tv.

Does this make sense to you?

Have Fun!
kmannth is offline  
post #3 of 26 Old 01-15-2012, 10:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mondragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@kmannth
I think that you didn't undersand the issue.
I dont't care about Xbox, PS3 or something else.

what I want is simple.

If there is a nice TV show, I want to have the sound from TV speakers in the speakers of the BDS system and nothing more. bassicaly I want to have a betters sound for the movies or for the music from the tv.

between BDS and TV there is a HDMI connection. please see the pictures from the previous post. first picture is the HDMI cable plugged in the BDS and the second one is plugged in the TV.

i don't know after that what settings I need to do for having the sound from tv in my BDS speakers.


btw
is not possible to plug the cable box directly in to receiver. there is no imput for that in my receiver. the digital signal for my cable box is plugged in my TV set.

maybe there is a harman kardon owner somewhere here with some expertise.

thank you.
mondragon is offline  
post #4 of 26 Old 01-15-2012, 10:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,440
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Hi mondragon, connect an optical cable from tv "Digital Audio Out" to BDS 570 "Optical IN-1" or "Optical IN-2.
JChin is offline  
post #5 of 26 Old 01-15-2012, 10:59 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mondragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
but why to do this JCin, as long as HDMI cable is for both video and audio signal ?

please looke at the picture from bellow. is a print screen from my user manual of the H/K.

maybe there is the answer. to be onest I'm not good at technical things and I don't understant what is trying to say there.
LL
mondragon is offline  
post #6 of 26 Old 01-15-2012, 11:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,440
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Its because your Samsung Tv doesn't support ARC (Audio Return Channel). For ARC to work both tv and BDS 570 (which does have ARC) has support this feature.
JChin is offline  
post #7 of 26 Old 01-15-2012, 11:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MrBobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by mondragon View Post

but why to do this JCin, as long as HDMI cable is for both video and audio signal ?

I will word it another way than JChin...

Both the HDMI/DVI on the TV are INPUTS, see label? Inputs don't send anything out, they can only receive. HDMI signal go one direction only.

Hook up as JChin says, resistance is futile, ur fighting it is not gonna suddenly produce magic.



5.1 state of the art? what country are u from? ^)

Solution: FREE. Explanation: I will have to charge$ you.

MrBobb is offline  
post #8 of 26 Old 01-15-2012, 11:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Once again, you should use one HDMI cable to connect your cable/satellite source to your receiver and another HDMI cable to connect your receiver to your TV. The receiver will process the audio so that you get sound in the speakers and it will send video to the TV. You could also use the optical connection from the TV to the receiver as JChin suggests. But, it's actually more complicated and you won't get discrete 5.1 that way.
BIslander is offline  
post #9 of 26 Old 01-15-2012, 11:51 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mondragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the TV have also a 3rd HDMI connection wich does not say HDMI IN but simple :HDMI. I will try that connection. do you think that is possible to have the sound from the tv in the bds in this way?
If not, then I will buy the optical cable.

@MrBobb
I bought that 5.1 system to wach movies on it. And yes, this system:
http://uk.harmankardon.com/bds-870-10221/bds-870.html
is the best 5.1 available from H/K and JBL together. I don't want and need nothing more. And please, don't write stupid things: I can buy with my incomes in my country everything that you can buy in yours.

PS
guys I don't have a HDMI output from my cable/satellite connection, to use such connection to have the signal in my receiver and after that in TV
mondragon is offline  
post #10 of 26 Old 01-16-2012, 12:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,440
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Maybe you want to post a pic of the back cable/satellite connections.
JChin is offline  
post #11 of 26 Old 01-16-2012, 01:36 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mondragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will post a picture in 7 hours time when I will be at home.

I just checked with my cable/satellite provider why I don't have a HDMI connection. that is because I have only digital cable and not HD cable.
the HDMI connection comes as standard only with HD cable, so I need to upgrade my cable plan. anyway, I want to buy this spring also an UE46D8000 samsung LED and I will need HD cable connection.

but, when you have digital or HD cable you have also a mini receiver, at least in my poor country ) and you are changing the tv stations from the remote control of the mini receiver provided by the cable TV provider, and the TV is acting only like a display.
are you trying to say that if I will connect trough the HDMI the mini reciver from the cable provider to my H/K receiver, I will change the TV programs from the remote control of the H/K ?
mondragon is offline  
post #12 of 26 Old 01-16-2012, 09:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
kmannth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
1. If you current cable box does not have HDMI and it supports 5.1 output you will want to use the optical or coaxial digitial out to wire that to your receiver. Also you current cable box may just have stereo output (As mentioned a picture will help us better understand your situation) and you will need to use something like dolby prologic to get the stereo to 5.1 converstion (prologicII is built into your receiver).

2. If you get HD cable you will still use the HD cable box remote to change the channels. You will use the receivers remote to change between watching TV and Blu-ray/DVD.

Have Fun!
kmannth is offline  
post #13 of 26 Old 01-16-2012, 10:55 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mondragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
please see the photos for the front and back of the actual cable box.
LL
LL
mondragon is offline  
post #14 of 26 Old 01-16-2012, 12:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,440
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Isn't scart connection SD and not HD? And does the box output dolby digital 5.1 audio?

You could leave scart connected to tv and then run an optical cable from the box "SPDIF" jack to BDS 570 "Optical IN-1" or "Optical IN-2 jack.
JChin is offline  
post #15 of 26 Old 01-16-2012, 10:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mondragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
today I will buy the optical cable(TOSlink). keep you update.
mondragon is offline  
post #16 of 26 Old 01-17-2012, 01:27 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mondragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
another question guys.

the back speakers are quite away from the receiver. in this moment, the cable for LB speaker is going under the carpet crossways in the room. to have the cable near the walls untill the LB speaker, I need a longer cable.

I heard a theory saing that the cables shoud have the same lenght and the same diameter.
shoud I change both cables for the back speakers with cables having the same lenght?

is something wrong if now I have 0.75mm width cables and I put 1.5mm width for the back speakers?
mondragon is offline  
post #17 of 26 Old 01-17-2012, 12:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mondragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
problem solved guys. I have the sound from the cable box in my H/K. I bought a TOSlink cable and that was it.
Thank you !
it is a cheap one: 1.5 meters HAMA. Around 9-10 US$. Could be a decent quality one?



any ideas from my questions from bellow?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mondragon View Post

another question guys.

the back speakers are quite away from the receiver. in this moment, the cable for LB speaker is going under the carpet crossways in the room. to have the cable near the walls untill the LB speaker, I need a longer cable.

I heard a theory saing that the cables shoud have the same lenght and the same diameter.
shoud I change both cables for the back speakers with cables having the same lenght?

is something wrong if now I have 0.75mm width cables and I put 1.5mm width for the back speakers?

mondragon is offline  
post #18 of 26 Old 01-17-2012, 12:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
kmannth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Two cable of different lengths and size will have different physical properties. If both cable are operating in their proper range I doubt this will will lead to a different sound but let your ears be the judge.

http://www.roger-russell.com/wire/wire.htm is an interesting read.

Glad the optical is working for you!
kmannth is offline  
post #19 of 26 Old 01-17-2012, 08:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MrBobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by mondragon View Post

is something wrong if now I have 0.75mm width cables and I put 1.5mm width for the back speakers?

Your fronts receive the most power so I say leave it.

Length-wise, please don't get into the deep end, only if you are assembling a nuclear device (then my Israeli friends want to talk to you) where the detonating signals has got to hit the "target" simultaneously within pico seconds. Tests have shown, audio signals that arrives at your ears within 10 ms, most people don't perceive any difference.

Solution: FREE. Explanation: I will have to charge$ you.

MrBobb is offline  
post #20 of 26 Old 01-18-2012, 03:06 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mondragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the cables for the sorround speakers have now 9 meters long.
if the lenght for RB speaker, the cable is at absolutely at the limit, for the left back I need at least 11 meters.

to leave one cable at 9 meters and to have the other one at 11 meters is a decent thing?
both with 0.75mm in diameter.
mondragon is offline  
post #21 of 26 Old 01-23-2012, 07:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mondragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
another question.
my receiver will not read some of the video(.iso and .mkv) from an USB device (memory stick or external HDD), so I will need to use my laptop for having a 5.1 sound and to play this kind of videos. anyway, the receiver coud read only from FAT32 harware, and the maximul limit is 4giga per file wich means that .iso and .mkv is excluded.

so, I need to buy a new laptop(anyway, the actual one is 6 years old) and I want to be sure that I can connect the laptop with the receiver and my laptop will have an audio connection in order to transmit a 5.1 sound to my receiver.

wich kind of connections and audio features the laptop need to have ?
I plan to spend around 2000 USD for the laptop, and in this price tag I shoud find the right machine, but i don't know what technical features the laptop shoud have for a 5.1 sound output.


thank you !
mondragon is offline  
post #22 of 26 Old 01-24-2012, 07:00 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mondragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
any ideas for my last questions guys ?

regards
mondragon is offline  
post #23 of 26 Old 04-09-2012, 03:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mondragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
another problem.
I bought a new samsung led UN55D8000 and I have the same problem with having the sound from tv to my harman kardon receiver.

before this tv , I had a small receiver from my cable provider and because the new tv is a decent one, the antena cable is plugged directly to tv and the small receiver from my cable provider is not need it any more.

so, both the tv and the receiver from harman have the ARC.
Where i need to plug the HDMI cable in in my tv and in my harman receiver in order to have the sound from the tv in the receiver and also the video from the receiver to the tv?
is enough one cable?
I need to plug the cable to both devices in the hdmi ARC slot ?
I need a special cable ?
mondragon is offline  
post #24 of 26 Old 04-09-2012, 01:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 123
You can use an optical cable from the TV to the receiver. Or, you can use the HDMI ARC connection. The device manuals will explain which HDMI ports support ARC. If you use ARC, no special cable is required. But, you will need to engage HDMI-CEC (Consumer Electronic Control) in both devices. Many people find CEC is more trouble than its worth.
BIslander is offline  
post #25 of 26 Old 04-10-2012, 03:54 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mondragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
like I said before, I know which hdmi ports support ARC, because I put the hdmi cable in it.

why to engage CEC ?
I don't need to use only one remote and I don't want this.

now I have the sound from the TV in the receiver trough a optical cable and the video from the receiver to the tv trough a hdmi cable.

I know that using the HDMI ARC it is enough one hdmi cable for both the sound from tv to receiver and the video from receiver to tv
mondragon is offline  
post #26 of 26 Old 04-10-2012, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 123
^^
CEC is required in order to use the audio return channel. That's just the way it works.
BIslander is offline  
Reply Audio theory, Setup and Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off