RCA cable to speaker cable?? no amp - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 01-19-2012, 11:51 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Stang306's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looking to see if possible to use RCA to Speaker Wire? low powered speakers/no amp / head unit etc. pretty much looking to see if possible to do this without using a head unit amp etc. I have seen some sites say that it always requires a amp, other places say you can do it with powered speakers etc, or even heard it maybe possible if very low powered speakers??

looking to get away from having to get a head unit / amp / whole sound system etc. old school jvc crt tube tv, old school york/yorx speaker. looking to use rcv jacks/cables and speaker wire. cheapest way to get it working and wanted to know if possible without a huge amp head unit.
Stang306 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 01-19-2012, 11:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JHAz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,861
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stang306 View Post

Looking to see if possible to use RCA to Speaker Wire? low powered speakers/no amp / head unit etc. pretty much looking to see if possible to do this without using a head unit amp etc. I have seen some sites say that it always requires a amp, other places say you can do it with powered speakers etc, or even heard it maybe possible if very low powered speakers??

looking to get away from having to get a head unit / amp / whole sound system etc. old school jvc crt tube tv, old school york/yorx speaker. looking to use rcv jacks/cables and speaker wire. cheapest way to get it working and wanted to know if possible without a huge amp head unit.

If your speakerws are powered (have amps built into them, plug into the wall to function) then you can go RCA into the speakers. If not, the line level signal from the rca output simply will not get the speakers to make usable sound. You need an amplifier to supply adequate power to run such speakers.

Just to put a littel meat on the bones - assume your preamp outputs max out at around 2 volts. They normally are connecting to high impedance inputs - - 1000 ohms or more. So 2 volts at 1000 ohms means the preamps are delivering something like .004 watts. 2 volts into 8 ohms would be 0.5 watts, but it is unlikely the preamps could actually deliver that much more power than their typical use calls for.
JHAz is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 01-19-2012, 12:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
kmannth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
You don't need a huge amp but you will need an amp if you want your speakers to really work.

You might get very small output 1/100 of normal volume if it the RCA from the TV could even drive the speaker load. RCA can maybe drive headphones you really don't want an amp you might try some passive computer speakers ...

A old stereo or ht reciver can be acquire very cheap and will make you life 10x better than trying it without.

Good luck.
kmannth is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 01-20-2012, 01:04 PM
Member
 
Tonepoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having trouble seeing what you want to do: Do you want to replace your current setup with something more functional or do you want to get it up and running?

To simplify manners, any speakers requiring speaker wire are likely passive speakers, which draw power to run at a listenable volume off of the amplified signal, so you'll need an amplifier. Amps come in pretty much all shapes, sizes and price ranges though, so there's little reason to avoid one.

Problem is, we can't recommend a specific amplifier without knowing the specifications of the speakers. Their resistance rating, maximum power handling, effiacy per watt ect. In addition to the brand name, we'd at least need a model number to look up a spec. sheet online at the very least. (Even then, I wouldn't be the best person to ask)

While I can't make a specific suggestion, what I can do for you is point you in a general direction: If all you want is a stereo setup, Class T amplifiers are typically said to be very small, efficient and clean sounding for a relatively cheap price. Dayton, Lepai, SMSL and MUSE are a few brand names to look into if you're interested in looking for one. (Careful about the Daytons though, since their DTA 100a, while perhaps the best looking one on paper, has some poor reviews regarding poor and potentially hazardous quality assurance issues.)
Tonepoet is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 01-20-2012, 01:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HopefulFred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,727
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 188
Is there a volume adjustment in the signal at line level?
HopefulFred is online now  
Reply Audio theory, Setup and Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off