cant get audio from optical 5 on yamaha 2000 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 02-12-2012, 11:16 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
digitalhiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, I am stumped? I have a computer that feeds audio to my yamaha 2000 receiver via optical. I have the optical plugged into optical 5 on the receiver (audio 1 (tv 2) area) and is giving me no sound. I had it hooked up before to an older receiver and had no isues! I have checked menu's and settings for 2 hours and I am completely stumped. I am not sure if it is the computer end or receiver but pretty sure it is a setting on the receiver as it worked from the computer in the past. Any sugestions? I have tried other optical inputs on receiver and nothing.
digitalhiss is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 02-12-2012, 12:01 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
digitalhiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have to be overlooking something realy simple???? If i do an audio test in the audio setup screen on the pc it sends, and I can hear, the test tones via the receiver but I still get no music when sent from pc?
digitalhiss is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 02-12-2012, 12:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
kmannth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Check your computers audio device settings. Make sure it is configurd to use the optical and not the regular analog out or hdmi.

Good Luck!
kmannth is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 02-12-2012, 12:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
sivadselim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: CO
Posts: 16,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 68
What is your source material? What software are you using for your music player?

"All men are frauds. The only difference between them is that some admit it. I myself deny it."
sivadselim is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 02-12-2012, 02:46 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
digitalhiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
my settings appear to be ok as i can get sound out via the pc's speaker test function. the music files are your standard mp3 files. I run windows 7 , quad core i7 with 8 channel audio capable mb.
digitalhiss is offline  
Reply Audio theory, Setup and Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off