At what point do i need to worry about current draw from one electrical outlet? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 87 Old 02-23-2012, 03:50 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am looking at using my current HK AVR 3600 as a processor and adding seperate amps for the power. Do I need to worry about too many pieces of equipment being plugged into a single outlet? is this a fire hazard or will it trip the breaker? if so, whats the fix for this. I am no electrician!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 87 Old 02-23-2012, 03:58 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Load it until the breaker trips, seriously. Unless your speakers are terribly inefficient, and/or you are running pure class A amps, you are drawing far less power than you think.

For insance, in my humble room, I have a Yamaha RX-V667 (90w/channel) in a 5.1 configuration driving somewhat efficient speakers, 91db up front, and 89 in the back, with a 42" LCD, and a HSU VTF-3 (350 Watts, 1400 Peak) along with various sources connected to an APC SmartUPS 1500. The UPS has a 5 segment load LED, and with the TV off I have to drive my system to ear bleeding levels before the first load light even starts to flicker on and off. Not a very scientific measurement, but nonetheless, your current draw isn't as high as you think.
post #3 of 87 Old 02-23-2012, 04:31 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Your AV system is a 'needlessly complicated' mechanism for turning electricity into heat . . . with intermediate stops at "sound", "light", and "magnetism"--but it all ends up as heat! If you can plug an electric fire into the outlet all day, and the room ends up warmer than when you run your AV system, you should be safe loading the circuit with your AV system...

[
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
]