Speaker cable - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 61 Old 03-27-2012, 07:15 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, could anyone let me know what I would expect to pay for good speaker wire,

I will be running 4 core to each volume control and them 2 core from controls to speakers the longest run would be around 15m,

Been looking about but there's that many different types and prices I would know what is poor fair or good, since spending quite a lot of time and money on this project I wouldn't want to just get the cheapest stuff I can find ( even though I've got by with 2.5 t+e ac cable for the past few years which sounds absolutely fine!

So anything would probably be an improvement to that, I hope anyway.

I am really tempted to just run the 2.5 ac flex for the speakers as I'm an electrician and can get it very cheap and to me it's just exactly the same stuff?

Any thoughts please
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 61 Old 03-27-2012, 07:42 AM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 50
www.monoprice.com

Sounds like you are doing in-wall wiring - they have a selection of 4 conductor and 2 conductor CL2 rated cables of various gages for very reasonable prices.

Please avoid the "name brand" audiophile cables. Not necessary to carry a signal properly.

post #3 of 61 Old 03-27-2012, 08:49 AM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 13
See the BIBLE OF SPEAKER WIRE.

"The greatest obstacle to discovery is not ignorance  it is the illusion of knowledge." - Daniel Boorstin
"Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.
" - MLK

post #4 of 61 Old 03-27-2012, 04:49 PM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 15
It doesn't look like you are in the US or Canada, some I'm not sure AC power cables are available to you. The best budget speaker cable is 4 core AC power cable. In the US that would be 3 insulated power wires (cores) and a bare (PE/EGC) wire. Connect the diagonal pairs together and use it as a 2 core speaker cable.