PS3 audio output settings - Yamaha HDMI pass through to TV speakers - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 05-16-2012, 09:51 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
JPowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I have an "old" PS3 that doesn't bitstream. For the first time I went in to check my audio output settings. The previous setting was on automatic. When I go into manual, I'm given these options:

Dolby Digital 5.1 Ch.
DTS 5.1 Ch.
AAC
Linear PCM 2Ch.--- 44.1 kHz
Linear PCM 2Ch.----88.2 kHz
Linear PCM 2Ch.---176.4 kHz
Linear PCM 2Ch.-------48 kHz
Linear PCM 2Ch.-------96 kHz
Linear PCM 2Ch.------192 kHz
Linear PCM 5.1Ch.---44.1 kHz
Linear PCM 5.1Ch.---88.2 kHz
Linear PCM 5.1Ch.-176.4 kHz
Linear PCM 5.1Ch.-----48 kHz
Linear PCM 5.1Ch.-----96 kHz
Linear PCM 5.1Ch.----192 kHz
Linear PCM 7.1Ch.---44.1 kHz
Linear PCM 7.1Ch.---88.2 kHz
Linear PCM 7.1Ch.--176.4 kHz
Linear PCM 7.1Ch.------48 kHz
Linear PCM 7.1Ch.------96 kHz
Linear PCM 7.1Ch.----192 kHz

I select everything except for the 7.1 channel options, because I only have a 5.1 setup. After I select these options, I get the warning "If the device in use does not support the frequency selected, the speakers may become damaged." This freaked me out, but I did some research and my Yamaha RX-V3900 manual's HDMI compatibility chart says it can handle 2ch and multi channel PCM up to 192 kHz, among other things.

My issue is that I often play video games with the receiver in standby mode (HDMI pass through to the TV), so I don't disturb my neighbors. Do I have to worry about damaging my TV speakers, since I selected higher frequencies that the receiver can handle, but might not be something the TV can also handle? If so, would unticking some of the higher frequency 2 channel options protect the TV speakers from damage, or am I completely wrong here?

I'd appreciate the help, thank you!
JPowers is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 05-16-2012, 11:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 122
The HDMI handshake should assure that the PS3 will only send a signal that the TV can handle.
BIslander is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 05-17-2012, 04:26 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
JPowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIslander View Post

The HDMI handshake should assure that the PS3 will only send a signal that the TV can handle.

That makes sense to me, but then why would they have the warnings? I did a test last night. On automatic for TV only HDMI pass through (receiver off), the PS3 gave me Linear PCM 2Ch. 44.1 kHz and Linear PCM 2Ch. 48 kHz, which is exactly what my TV manual says it's compatible with. I then turned on the stereo and ran the the automatic setting again, which gave me the entire list with the exception of AAC. (strange, because my receiver mentions AAC in the specs)

What that shows me is that these settings don't change unless I run auto setup before using the PS3 every time.
JPowers is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 05-20-2012, 08:56 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
JPowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Anyone else?
JPowers is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 05-20-2012, 09:31 PM
Senior Member
 
flyingvfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
no you do not need to disable the Higher settings, it will simply pass through the Appropriate Freq signal to the tv, it will not damage your tv speakers.. Ive been doin the same thing for years and no Damage..
flyingvfreak is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 05-20-2012, 09:32 PM
Senior Member
 
flyingvfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
and cause it the Fat Ps3 you want to send LPCM to the Recv and the the ps3 do the decoding.
flyingvfreak is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 05-22-2012, 06:36 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
JPowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Excellent, thank you!
JPowers is offline  
Reply Audio theory, Setup and Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off