Turntable Setup...What do I need to suit my tastes? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 47 Old 05-30-2012, 09:32 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, I've decided to go with pro-ject's new debut carbon turntable and I had several questions regarding what I should do and buy. I'm an absolute newb to vinyl, but i've been wanting to get into it for a while. As a preface to the entire thread, I want to state that, as a bass player, I really like pronounced bass. I want it to be powerful and punchy and hate muddy. In fact, I like nice bright bass.

For starters, should I replace the stock ortofon 2m red cartridge or should I stick to it for a while and see what I like and don't like about it? Or based on my aforementioned preference, should I go with a different one?

Next, I just don't know what else to get to get this setup to sound good. I would think an amplifier/receiver of some sort? I would like to buy something that i could use with a home theater system also if you guys think it's feasible. What speakers and amp should I look into? As a beginner, I don't want to spend a fortune buying nice gear. I just want something along the same lines as the debut...not the lowest on the rung, but something to whet my appetite for better stuff in the future.

Please help me and give me advice on complete setup.

Thanks a lot.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 47 Old 05-30-2012, 05:23 PM

Liked: 11
What are you expecting from 2 channel vinyl that would be superior to 5.1 DTS MA or 5.1 Dolby True HD?
post #3 of 47 Old 05-30-2012, 07:12 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikejungle View Post