Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 9 Old 06-20-2012, 12:31 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi!

I'm totally new to all this and might ask rather silly questions but here goes:

I'm thinking of buying some entry-level floorstanding speakers rather than a 2.1 setup cos I figured a subwoofer would be overkill for an apartment. What's the use if I can't crank it up to decent levels, right? So I thought that would be wasted money and thus I'd rather spend all of it on some floorstanding ones so I have a nice range of everything. Stop me here if my reasoning is completely flawed wink.gif

Then my real question: How not to annoy the neighbors?
The speakers would only have 10cm (3.9 inch) of space behind them, and one of them would stand almost side-to-side to a wall (corner setup, not ideal I know!). How does this all affect the sound and more specifically the bass? I'm worried about angry neighbors...
Gonna roll with a Denon 1612 so I suppose I can tone down the bass with the EQ if needed.

On the other side of the walls they're bordering to is my kitchen, and the outdoors, so none are directly connected to any neighbor. Not sure if that's relevant at all, I don't really know how far those vibrations travel.

Will I need some sort of padding for my floor so I don't drive the neighbor below crazy? If so could someone point me to some website where I can order these? Thanks for the advice! smile.gif
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 06-20-2012, 12:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 674 Post(s)
Liked: 1142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chimeray View Post

Hi!
I'm totally new to all this and might ask rather silly questions but here goes: