help and advice needed on setting up church pa system - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 2 Old 07-18-2012, 10:43 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Guys,
I really hope you can help me, i'm a bit of a novice but willing to learn I have just moved to another area and church which has no pa system apart from what looks like a karokee machine. I do have a little knowledge about pa's howeveer this is very limited and basic.
The hall holds around 100-150 people

Given what instruments they have I think they could do with

Mixer desk, which I have its old but reliable. It's a samick 12 channel non powered mixer, amp, 4 monitors, multi core, 2 main speakers, 3 mics, something to record services on, and some way to connect the computer to it all, 2 guitars and a keyboard.

Given the size of the room I was thinking that a amp maybe 300w would be eenough
Now the equipment that I have managed to scrounge is

1x whafdale active monitor(300 w)
3x passive monitors(200w)
the above 12 channel mixer
2 passive main speakers(200w)
3 dynamic mics
1 amp-not yet got but 300w, 2 channels-carlsboro

On my mixer it 12 channels which all accept mics /xlrs with line and insert jacks underneath? to the right it has master output left and right,mon out,sum out . Now i get that the mics ,instruments can go in the xlr inputs /channels in which i was going to put a di box inbetween for the keyboard and guitars. from here i'm lost i really need step by step instruction what goes were and the best way to do it.

I know i can slave one passive monitor off the active monitor but no idea how to connect the othe 2 ,the amp,main speakers , how to record and how to connect the laptop if possible. ,if i can connect a laptop is there a way to record the service stright onto it instead of cd?
I am sorry that there are 101 questions but would be thankful for any help or advice that anyone could give.