HT Equipment questions - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 08-08-2012, 10:03 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am looking at buying a HT system and have come up with the configuration below. Im not an expert at HT systems at all and I am trying to make an educated guess as to what will be a decent system. My biggest challenge has been trying to find a center channel that does not exceed 9.5" in depth and surround speakers will be mounted on the wall and the wife doesnt want a big box speaker sticking out of the wall. These limitations are what caused me to chose the center channel and the surrounds. With this being said I need a receiver that will power these speakers and really have no clue where to start. I have looked at the onkyo 809 but dont know if its enough power for the given speakers. Can someone give me suggestions? Also is there a better speaker setup that I could chose for the price? I really dont want to spend more than what these speakers retail for. Sorry for the newb question but I would hate to spend the money and then regret it all.

Receiver: Onkyo 809
Center Speaker: Polk CSiA4
Fronts: Polk RTiA7
Surrounds: Polk OWM5
Sub: Undecided
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 08-08-2012, 01:02 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Welcome to AVS. Take a look at post #8 of this thread--it looks like Vann's is having a blowout sale on the Energy Veritas speaker line. I personally would choose these over the Polks, and it may even save you some money. The matching center would also fit your size requirement. Also take a look around the "receiver" section as you might find a better deal than the Onkyo.

I want to die peacefully in my sleep like my grandfather, except not while driving a school bus.
post #3 of 7 Old 08-08-2012, 03:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 208 Post(s)
Liked: 741
^^