azuretech/creative/asus Xi-Fi-sound card vs Radeon 5XXX+ HDMI, which is best? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 08-17-2012, 05:32 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
wrongff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am just wondering if there is an effect using these HD audio cards for my receiver. (please ignore my other post, i will explain clearly here)

I am currently using a Toshlink from pc to my NR 1403 marantz for 5.1

Normally it only does stereo but i set it up so that the receiver process it in PLII and i set FFDshow to do DD-DTS to all.

However, i don't like how it sound, the way my receiver did it make the center focus too much sound while there is no spread around. It feel like a 1.0 instead of a 5.1 with some occasion louder background sound. Manual adjusting the center doesn't help either and would defeat the purpose of having audissey Multi-eq



Would getting a sound card helps? If it bit-steam DD/DTS or make my window 7 sound like a 5.1 even with raw sounds?

I tried HDMI with 5850, the problem i have is by connecting HDMI, i have these flicker on monitor whenever i change anything with remote (like switch channel, or change EQ), then eventually HDMI turn off itself and require a shut off. This is NOT fixable, since the HDMI make it think i expanded my desktop as the 3rd monitor, so it flicker all monitors i have as it is disable a monitor.

Currently, i am using toshlink and i am not satisfy with what i am using. I am hoping i get better surround sound then this if a sound card with bit-steam (whatever it is) can help.
wrongff is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 08-17-2012, 06:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
amirm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Washington State
Posts: 18,013
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 688 Post(s)
Liked: 388
I suggest iterating with HDMI card until you get it working. The problem may unfortunately be at either end. There is really no better solution for multi-channel audio+video. Video these days does not stress the graphics cards as even low end ones have decoding acceleration for common codecs. Suggest browsing the HTPC section of this forum and see what people use.

My personal choice is the Intel graphics that came with my motherboard and it works 95% reliably with my four year old AVR.

On extending the desktop, that is a configuration change. You can set it up to mirror in the control panel. Do you have more than one monitor anyway? If you do, that will complicate things. I suggest dedicating a PC just to this use and be done with it smile.gif.
wrongff likes this.

Amir
Founder, Madrona Digital
"Insist on Quality Engineering"

amirm is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 08-17-2012, 07:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 14,275
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 674 Post(s)
Liked: 1142
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrongff View Post

I am just wondering if there is an effect using these HD audio cards for my receiver. (please ignore my other post, i will explain clearly here)
I am currently using a Toshlink from pc to my NR 1403 marantz for 5.1
Normally it only does stereo but i set it up so that the receiver process it in PLII and i set FFDshow to do DD-DTS to all.
However, i don't like how it sound, the way my receiver did it make the center focus too much sound while there is no spread around. It feel like a 1.0 instead of a 5.1 with some occasion louder background sound. Manual adjusting the center doesn't help either and would defeat the purpose of having audissey Multi-eq
Would getting a sound card helps? If it bit-steam DD/DTS or make my window 7 sound like a 5.1 even with raw sounds?
I tried HDMI with 5850, the problem i have is by connecting HDMI, i have these flicker on monitor whenever i change anything with remote (like switch channel, or change EQ), then eventually HDMI turn off itself and require a shut off. This is NOT fixable, since the HDMI make it think i expanded my desktop as the 3rd monitor, so it flicker all monitors i have as it is disable a monitor.
Currently, i am using toshlink and i am not satisfy with what i am using. I am hoping i get better surround sound then this if a sound card with bit-steam (whatever it is) can help.

As you describe your problems, it sounds to me like you may have a EDID problem.

Here is more about EDID: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Extended_display_identification_data
wrongff likes this.
arnyk is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 08-18-2012, 06:04 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
wrongff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks, i will try ask this question down the HTPC, i thought that forum is for making an AV out of a PC, so the thought never came across me.
wrongff is offline  
Reply Audio theory, Setup and Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off