Mixing HDMI and Analog to SPDIF - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-21-2012, 04:07 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mark_anderson_u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Hi All

We have a configuration at work where we use a laptop connected to a TV via HDMI, which is then connected to a soundbar via SPDIF.

We have some con calls where we need to mix sound from the phone system (presented in mono RCA) and sound from the computer (for video clips) to the soundbar.

The reason for this is so that the presenter participants can hear responses from callers on the phone and sound from video clips play over the soundbar (so either the video or a caller would be heard). I'm sure we could probably somehow plug the phone system into the PC and mix internally, but people typically just use their laptop, so trying to deal with several OSes, OS versions, and hardware variations would be a nightmare. I n order to simplify things, we would prefer to mix externally.

Worst case, we could revert to simple analog audio from the laptop, but that would be another cable to plug-in and a different config for user to remember (as they normally just use HDMI)

Anyone got any suggestions?

Regards

Mark
mark_anderson_u is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-22-2012, 07:09 AM
ap1
AVS Special Member
 
ap1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I would use one of HDMI audio splitters to get audio out as analog stereo, then send it to analog mixer together with phone system output, then connect output from mixer to soundbar. If soundbar does not have analog inputs, replace it with a pair of active speakers. Get HDMI splitter on-line and the rest if equipment from your local pro music store.

ap1 is online now  
Old 08-23-2012, 09:00 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
mark_anderson_u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Thanks AP1

Soundbar does have RCA input, so we're in luck

Regards

Mark
mark_anderson_u is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off