Please help complete noob: Speaker system - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 26 Old 09-12-2012, 02:00 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys,

I am planning to buy my mother a sound system and am completely clueless to what a good system is. I know that Klipsch is a good brand, but that is about as far as my knowledge goes. She will be using it mainly to listen to music with the occasional movie. I am hoping for a 5.1 system, and was wondering which setup would be best. My budget is $1,000-3,000 dollars. The music she will be mainly listening to is classical music. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 Old 09-12-2012, 02:44 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 260
Do you need just speakers, or do you need a complete system? IOW, does she have a receiver or similar device already, and if so which one?

Also, in what format is her music? CDs, LPs, computer files? And do we have player(s) for those formats already?

Finally, how big a room are we talking about here?

I'm tempted to tell you to just buy a 2.0 or 2.1 system, given that it's mostly for classical music, but answers to the questions above will help everyone give you better answers. And don't worry about being clueless. We'll make sure you don't stay that way for long.

If you can't explain how it works, you can't say it doesn't.—The High-End Creed

post #3 of 26 Old 09-12-2012, 02:49 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Nice gesture. Just a few questions. How old is your Mom? Many older people don't like complicated systems. They just want something easy to use w/out much fuss(maybe just cd and DVD). Also does she prefer a small speaker system or something larger. Try to find out w/what she's comfortable with.smile.gif
post #4 of 26 Old 09-12-2012, 02:56 PM - Thread Starter

Thank you for your fast responses.