Ps3 set to bitstream/ Yamaha A720 info displays PCM - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 09-29-2012, 06:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sagecounsel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, Maine
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I understand this right, the info display is showing
This as the AVR is decoding the bistream into
multichannel PCM Of some kHZ (as all boxes are checked in setup)
Which is BETTER than DD 5.1 or DTS 5.1.
then Blu Rays are displaying DTS ma hd and DD TrueHD
As there is no comparable PCM feed, correct??
While my Xbox 360 and DirectTV box show DD 5.1 as that's
What the source is feeding the AVR?

Thanks for any confirmation guys.
sagecounsel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 09-29-2012, 10:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHAz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 139
I would assume that the Yamaha displays what's coming into the system. Announcing on the display that the unit is converting a codec to PCM would be redundant. All those codecs have to be decoded into PCM in order for the digital to analog converter to turn them into analog.

What the display probably means is your PS3 is decoding to PCM (unless you happen to be playing a BD that has a PCM track). I believe older PS3s can't bitstream one or both of the lossless codecs, so that may be what's going on in your case.

There are varying opinions on whch lossy codec, DTS or DD, is "better." They do the same thing, in general - using perceptual models to throw away the parts of the sound that are not actually audible (or at least attempting to do as little damage as possible within their bitrate - to let DVDs store the soundtrack with much less bandwidth use.

Both of the lossless versions are, uh, lossless. Like a zip file, when "unzipped" they (are supposed to) yield the original PCM. Since they end up identical they are for all practical purposes identical. Just to be clear, an optical or coaxial digital connection will not allow the lossless codecs to pass (and they won't pass multichannel PCM, either). So PCM over optical or coax digital will be stereo, not multichannel.
JHAz is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 09-30-2012, 08:40 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sagecounsel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, Maine
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks JHaz
To clarify
Brand new model ps3
Brand new Yamaha A720
New hdmi cables
Set to bitstream
All output options checked

Then
All GAMES without an audio selection (like uncharted 3 with DTS 5.1)
Showing PCM on Yamaha with all speakers lit 7.1 in all(Lego pirates/batman2, mass effect 3
Etc)
DVD with DD 5.1 shows DD 5.1
Blu ray with DTS ma HD shows DTS ma HD

Vs
Xbox 360 always shows DD 5.1
And Direct TV shows DD 5.1 for those feeds etc

Soooo what's happening with the games on ps 3??

That multi channel PCM its showing is the bitstream raw data coming through as...
What?

Doesn't it need to be matrixed or am I just dumb?
sagecounsel is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 09-30-2012, 07:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHAz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Find the amps and receivers thread for your yamaha and the ps3 and ask there. If the yamaha suays its receiving pcm on say a dts hdma soundtrack. Then the ps3 is decoding the dts to pcm. It should be able to bitstream the dd or dts natively to your receiver so the receiver can decode it. There should be no audible difference but on my denon a cool blue light lights up.
JHAz is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 10-01-2012, 05:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sagecounsel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, Maine
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yeah

thats what weird

thought if I bitstreamed

my receiver would decode and show each format

But for all the GAMES it just shows PCM and this seems...odd?

asking same question info on Receiver forum
sagecounsel is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 10-02-2012, 10:11 AM
 
Auditor55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Silicon Valley, CA.
Posts: 8,795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by sagecounsel View Post

yeah
thats what weird
thought if I bitstreamed
my receiver would decode and show each format
But for all the GAMES it just shows PCM and this seems...odd?
asking same question info on Receiver forum

On games my receiver shows PCM, on Blu Rays it will show DTS-HD MA or Dolby-True HD even when the PS3 is set to bitstream.
Auditor55 is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 10-02-2012, 11:07 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sagecounsel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, Maine
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok so I'm not alone on this...
So bitstream is being decoded as multi channel PCM
As that's how all these games are " natively" ??

Ie we're hearing it as game was "recorded" uncompressed?

Thanks just seems odd but I know this has been bandied about alot.
sagecounsel is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 10-02-2012, 11:59 AM
 
Auditor55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Silicon Valley, CA.
Posts: 8,795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by sagecounsel View Post

Ok so I'm not alone on this...
So bitstream is being decoded as multi channel PCM
As that's how all these games are " natively" ??
Ie we're hearing it as game was "recorded" uncompressed?
Thanks just seems odd but I know this has been bandied about alot.

Yes, that's probably the case, the audio on the games are recorded uncompressed.
Auditor55 is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 10-02-2012, 12:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sagecounsel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, Maine
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
]Mystery solved then.
And this is probably preferable to setting it to LPCM
Letting ps3 decode then send to Receiver?
Or is that a loaded question smile.gif
sagecounsel is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 10-02-2012, 02:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHAz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by sagecounsel View Post

Ok so I'm not alone on this...
So bitstream is being decoded as multi channel PCM
As that's how all these games are " natively" ??
Ie we're hearing it as game was "recorded" uncompressed?
Thanks just seems odd but I know this has been bandied about alot.

Generally, I have always thought of "bitstream" as meaning "send whatever digital format is native to the track with no changes." Bitstream is how the track is transferred, not what the track is.

I would assume that if the games have PCM sound, they were recorded w/o data compression. It would be silly to do otherwise, as you'd have to capture the sounds either with a mic or from a synthesizer and if the sounds are analog (like from a mic) AFAIK you have to use an analog to digital converter to convert them to regular old PCM digital as a first step. Then you can use appropriate algorithms to reduce the total amount of data (data compression). Then when you play it back, you first uncompress the data, turning it into PCM (which will be more or less like the original PCM depending on how lossy the data compression is) and then use a digital to analog converter to turn the PCM back into analog sound. Why have the intermediate lossy step if you're going to put sound on the game in PCM?
JHAz is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 10-02-2012, 11:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mtbdudex's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 4,127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by sagecounsel View Post

]Mystery solved then.
And this is probably preferable to setting it to LPCM
Letting ps3 decode then send to Receiver?
Or is that a loaded question smile.gif

I have a "fat" 60GB PS3 circa early 2008, so I'm forced to use LPCM, however with your new on I can't see why you are.
LPCM is fine, but if you want your AVR to do the decoding you should be able to set your PS3 to do that.
see the PS3 thread info here http://www.avsforum.com/t/931796/official-ps3-faq-master-thread#user_audio
mtbdudex is offline  
Reply Audio theory, Setup and Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off