Help adding second sub??? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 09-30-2012, 12:25 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
prn1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a yamaha yht s401 soundbar with all in one receiver/subwoofer. I want more bass & want to add second sub. What would be best way to add one to this system? & will it turn It's volume up with main system or have to do it separate? Thx for any help
prn1972 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 10-04-2012, 09:20 AM
Senior Member
 
has7738's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: North America
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Sorry, you're stuck. This soundbar has no accessible connection for a subwoofer. Any other solution I can think of would be a haywired mess, and though you could get a sub to play, you'd never be able to control it well.
has7738 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 10-04-2012, 09:37 AM
Member
 
Perry R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Lindbrook Alberta Canada
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
A sub with a amp that accepts speaker level inputs will work.
Easy to hook up and it will work with your volume control
Perry R is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 10-04-2012, 04:15 PM
Senior Member
 
has7738's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: North America
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perry R View Post

A sub with a amp that accepts speaker level inputs will work.
Easy to hook up and it will work with your volume control

Good catch. Forgot about those, I don't see them much. I guess you could also use a speaker to line level adapter and go into a powered sub that way too.
has7738 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 10-06-2012, 08:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HopefulFred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,924
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 200 Post(s)
Liked: 224
Won't those speaker signals be high-pass filtered?
HopefulFred is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 10-06-2012, 10:59 PM
Senior Member
 
has7738's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: North America
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by HopefulFred View Post

Won't those speaker signals be high-pass filtered?
Perhaps, but no crossover is perfect. Might be enough left over for a sub if you cranked the gain. I dunno, the whole thing seems sort of a hack job. Soundbars: you love them, you hate them. Clearly the boffins at Yamaha had no intention of anyone very adding a second sub.
has7738 is offline  
Reply Audio Theory, Setup, and Chat

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off