3 speaker + sub setup - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 14 Old 10-09-2012, 11:14 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all - good evening! I was hoping someone could maybe guide me in the proper direction....please! Im a total idiot with this stuff i admit haa.

I have never built a system before and the last sony soundbar/sub system i bought sucks!

Do any of you have suggestions for two standing speakers, a sub, a reciever (i have idea where to start with this in particular) and a center speaker? I dont care about brand. Im a novice so incremental gains in sound quality prob would be lost on me. Main thing i would like is it to be loud (treble?) And the base (the boom!) . The sony soundbar/sub has no balls - excuse my french.

Any and all help will be greatly greatly appreciated! And my wife would like to thank u for helping me not screw this up again haha.

Much appreciated and take care!

Go Carolina!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 10-09-2012, 11:17 PM - Thread Starter

Sorry folks! Wifey just pointed out I didnt put a budget.....the most we can spend is $400-500. Our living room os fairly average(25x20?), wood floors.

Thanks again!!!
post #3 of 14 Old 10-10-2012, 12:50 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 787
Tight budget......

Check out the refurbished denon 1713 avr http://www.accessories4less.com/make-a-store/item/DENAVR1713/DENON-AVR-1713-5.1ch-Networking-Receiver-w/AirPlay-3D-Ready/1.html.

Perhaps a pair of polk monitor 60's or 70's from newegg.com to start with then add sub and center later as budget allows. The monitor 60's can be had for around $150 per speaker, the 70s about $180 per speaker. The matching center would be the CS2 and can be had for around $120.

Polk psw505 and bic f12 are both decent entry level subs and can be found for around $200 (newegg for the 505 and amazon for the bic)..