Is Audiquest still the best? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 11-11-2012, 09:29 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tedcousens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am picking up a new Marantz av7701 to replace my 14 year old av550. I have always outputted the audio via good audioquest cables but they are very old, almost 20 years. I have two questions:

1. I am outputting to warm Mosfet amps (Adcom): can anyone recommend a good RCAcable to use and do the old cables need to be replaced?

2. Although I will not be using them, of what benefit are the XLR outputs - is the sound that much better?

Thanks.

I've seen things you people wouldn't believe...

Roi Batty
tedcousens is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 11-11-2012, 09:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 14,382
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 754 Post(s)
Liked: 1167
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedcousens View Post

I am picking up a new Marantz av7701 to replace my 14 year old av550. I have always outputted the audio via good audioquest cables but they are very old, almost 20 years.

I won't hold that against you!
Quote:
I have two questions:

1. I am outputting to warm Mosfet amps (Adcom): can anyone recommend a good RCAcable to use and do the old cables need to be replaced?

I'm wondering which Adcom amps have MOSFET outputs, because I have the service manuals (schematic, parts list) for several of them and the outputs are Bipolar.

I've also done level-matched, time-synched, bias-controlled listening tests of them and also done bench tests. Long story short they are electrically flat, have low source impedances, and are sonically transparent, that is uncolored, neither warm nor cold.
Quote:
2. Although I will not be using them, of what benefit are the XLR outputs - is the sound that much better?

Power amps as a rule don't have XLR outputs. They may have XLR inputs.
arnyk is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 11-11-2012, 09:58 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tedcousens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HI Arnie,

Thanks for responding. Yes, it's been so long that I have forgotten how to speak audio. biggrin.gif Perhaps the Adcom amps are not mosfet, I am not really sure- I do know that they are considered AB: class A for 10 watts then B upon draw.

Of course the prepro has the output and the amps perhaps have the input. My question is: does utilization of xlr even on one end only, improve the quality of sound? If not, and I continue to use the rca outputs on the prepro, would I benefit by replacing the old audioquest cables I have or just keep the ones I have which are at least 15 years old. Thanks again. T

I've seen things you people wouldn't believe...

Roi Batty
tedcousens is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 11-11-2012, 10:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mcnarus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6,169
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 321
Quote:
does utilization of xlr even on one end only, improve the quality of sound?
Generally no, unless there's a clear problem with the alternative.
Quote:
would I benefit by replacing the old audioquest cables
No.

If you can't explain how it works, you can't say it doesn't.—The High-End Creed

mcnarus is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 11-11-2012, 11:17 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 14,382
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 754 Post(s)
Liked: 1167
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedcousens View Post

HI Arnie,

Thanks for responding. Yes, it's been so long that I have forgotten how to speak audio. biggrin.gif Perhaps the Adcom amps are not mosfet, I am not really sure- I do know that they are considered AB: class A for 10 watts then B upon draw.

Of course the prepro has the output and the amps perhaps have the input. My question is: does utilization of xlr even on one end only, improve the quality of sound?

Since there is then nothing to connect the terminal that would make the balanced output special to, it can't make a difference.
Quote:
If not, and I continue to use the rca outputs on the prepro, would I benefit by replacing the old audioquest cables I have or just keep the ones I have which are at least 15 years old. Thanks again. T

Cables rarely wear out in home applications because they are rarely messed with. I would sincerely hope that expensive cables would at least be technically competent enough to last as well as good commodity cables.

You have a big advantage on me - you can see and touch the cables. Are there crackling noises if you flex them while your audio system is turned on? Is there evidence of bad corrosion on the connectors? If the insulation on the cables stiffening or cracking?

If the Audioquest cables are at least as well made as a good commodity cable, then there would be no reason to replace it.

People tell me that cables made by Blue Jeans Cables are very well made and should last for life - if you have doubts about the AQ cables you might want to try them.
arnyk is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 11-11-2012, 11:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tedcousens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The AQ cables seem to be intact. The body of the cable is a little greasy but the connectors are fine. I will not worry about it for now.thanks again.

I've seen things you people wouldn't believe...

Roi Batty
tedcousens is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 11-11-2012, 04:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
beaveav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,830
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 305
I have several sets of AQ interconnects, and they're worth every penny I paid for them.





















(I got them for free.)
biggrin.gif

For every new thing I learn, I forget two things I used to know.
beaveav is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 11-11-2012, 05:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CharlesJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by beaveav View Post

I have several sets of AQ interconnects, and they're worth every penny I paid for them.
(I got them for free.)
biggrin.gif

Hey, that is a tremendous discount.biggrin.gif
CharlesJ is offline  
Reply Audio theory, Setup and Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off