Noobie questions about audyssey, spl meter, room treatment - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 37 Old 11-14-2012, 08:57 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1.) If I follow the Audyssey setup guide/threads, am i basically done right? audyssey pro kit or calling audyssey installer isn't needed?

2.) should I get an SPL meter (for post audyssey calibration?)

3.) I'm new to room treatment. how badly do i need this for a small square room?

TIA

Specs:
Denon 1712
Front: Pioneer SP-BS41-LR
Center: Pioneer SP-C21
Rear: Pioneer SP-BS21-LR
Subwoofer: SVS 12 Plus

10' W x10' D x 9' H enclosed room with one corner opening up to 3' W x 2.33' D x 9' H area where door is.

My 5.1 audio system bedroom setup:
10'1" L x 9'11" D x 8' H. One corner opens up to a space (for the door to open/close) that measures 2'4" L x 2'11" D x 8' H.
AVR: Denon 1712
Fronts: Pioneer SP-BS41-LR
Subwoofer: SVS PC12-NSD
TV: Samsung UN46EH6070...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 37 Old 11-15-2012, 03:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 674 Post(s)
Liked: 1142
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stealth3si View Post

1.) If I follow the Audyssey setup guide/threads, am i basically done right? audyssey pro kit or calling audyssey installer isn't needed?

3.) I'm new to room treatment. how badly do i need this for a small square room?

It's all about costs and benefits.

You aren't done right until you are satisfied with the results. That may take everything you mentioned, and then building a new room and buying all new equipment.

I'd say that getting SPL meters are a waste of time and effort. If your best results with just Audyssey doesn't do it, you should go directly to measurements with a mic, computer, and analytically software.

Be aware that you are potentially starting on a journey of many steps. Unlike playing musical chairs with DACs or power amplifiers, you will be dealing with real audible improvements.