Newbie Question on Digital Audio up/oversampling on Analog vs Digital media. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 11-21-2012, 06:19 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Calling all experts, I will try to be brief.

I been getting interested in digitizing my old album collection from the 60s 70s and 80s. I've also been doing a little research about digital audio, particularly about sampling and bit depth. But I'm new to all this.

I'm using Audacity on a Mac Pro with a good turntable attached to the line in and doing some test recordings. So far everything's working well.

However I got to thinking that maybe I could do the same thing with my CD collection but rather than " rip them" into MP3s which have already done 10 years ago, maybe I could "upsample" my CD collection as well, as my vinyl records.

So here's my question

I can see the value of upsampling or oversampling above the CD rate of 44.1/16 on analog media such as my vinyl records [ See note 1 below ].

However even though you can convert digital media to higher sampling rates and bit depths and run them on certain equipment if you have it, I don't see what you're really gaining in doing so because the source is already "digital" so in the case of a compact disc which is obviously digital no matter what sampling rate or bit that the use your base source is still going to be 44.1 kHz/16. When I was discussing us with some friends I use the analogy of a digital photo, let's say at VGA resolution of 640×480 pixels and trying to upscale it to say HD 1920 x 1080 pixels, ( forgetting aspect ratio just for this example) to do so you'd need to fill in the information by adding pixels to the original 640 x 480 and it probably wouldn't be very good. I know there are programs like Photoshop and even Apple's iPhoto that will let you do these things but really these programs have to guess what color the pixels would be before adding them.