Need some advice for my setup - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 11-25-2012, 10:10 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hey guys,

I'm new around here, and I'm looking to get some advice. Seems like there are tons of knowledgable members around here! I'm trying to setup my sound while taking advantage of some Black Friday/Cyber Monday deals.

I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to speakers and receivers, but I just got a new 60" LED TV and would like to hook up some nice sound around it.

Here are some basics:

1. Budget:around $500-750
2. How many speakers: I'm open to this... I just want good sound that can be felt throughout the room.
4. Any speaker size limitations: not really; I'm open to towers and all kinds of stuff.
5. Main use: a little bit of everything: movies, PS3, and music (rap, pop)

Best Buy has the Klipsch Floor Speakers for sale and they are getting some great reviews:

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Klipsch+-+Icon+Dual+8%22+2-Way+Floor+Speaker+(Each)/2138273.p?id=1218310758886&skuId=2138273

Normally $450 per speaker, but it's discounted to $225. I was thinking about grabbing two of these.

Ideally, I'd like to pair them with this Subwoofer:

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Klipsch+-+8%22+350W+Powered+Subwoofer/9502629.p?id=1218115621097&skuId=9502629&ky=2oh0NrwOl4j1qjMx3Oy2gXfVGhMUl0WiJ&utm_campaign=bazaarvoice&utm_medium=Default&utm_source=RatingsAndReviews&utm_content=Default#tab=overview

It's $370 so a bit pricey for me. I might go for this one that's cheaper, or another one you guys would recommend.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Polk+Audio+-+10%22+200W+Powered+Subwoofer+-+Black/8826103.p?id=1207352528863&skuId=8826103&st=Cyber_Sale_Home_Theater_101354&cp=1&lp=13#tab=overview