Yamaha RX-V673 "access denied" error connecting to server - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 12-04-2012, 06:33 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
atomarchio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just purchased Yamaha RX-V673 receiver.

I am trying to stream MP3 music files from my HP HomeServer. The receiver can see my server over the network fine.

However, when I attempt to connect it says "access denied" in the GUI interface on the receiver. The HP server streams media just fine to my Tivo and other devices though.

Any idea on how I can fix this problem?
atomarchio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 01-18-2013, 01:56 PM
Newbie
 
RackDaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Exact same problem. Can't access anything reliably (Pandora, Sirius, etc.). Even tried turning off my routers firewall -- still nothing.

Strangely, I can connect to the receiver over IP using my iPad, but not my PC. Not sure if they're related.
RackDaddy is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-21-2013, 12:14 PM
Member
 
Czarwyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RackDaddy View Post

Exact same problem. Can't access anything reliably (Pandora, Sirius, etc.). Even tried turning off my routers firewall -- still nothing.

Strangely, I can connect to the receiver over IP using my iPad, but not my PC. Not sure if they're related.

I'm also having the same issue has someone solved this?
Czarwyd is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 01-22-2013, 05:24 AM
Newbie
 
RackDaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I contacted Yamaha customer support. We ran through a few checks, although I think the whole setup was working better with the tech over the phone (of course). He seemed to think that it was my router blocking/restricting WAN access. That's somewhat difficult for me to believe because the Yamaha receiver is the ONLY device in my house (I also have multiple iPhones, an iPad, a PS3, two Rokus, two internet TVs, a media server, multiple PCs, a Macbook Air, etc.) that has issues.

I've all but given up.. I just relocated my Bluetooth receiver to the Yamaha to avoid pulling my hair out.
RackDaddy is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 03-28-2013, 10:53 PM
Newbie
 
RickPrahran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I too have the same problem. Fairly common by the look of it. Anyone out there solved this?
RickPrahran is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 03-29-2013, 05:57 AM
Newbie
 
RackDaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Trust me, I tried everything. I gave the receiver a static IP and put it in the DMZ and tried completely disabling my firewall.. Setting a permament wireless channel... Turning off everything near the router and receiver that could cause interference -- nothing.

Sure, it would work for about 10 minutes, and then suddenly drop. On my iPad, it wouldn't appear as an Airplay-enabled device. Some days it's there, most of the time it's not.

So I went out and bought an Apple TV. It works every time.
RackDaddy is offline  
Reply Audio theory, Setup and Chat

Tags
Yamaha Rx V673 Receiver
Gear in this thread - V673 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off