Two 2-way Optical Splitters? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 12-06-2012, 12:21 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Lobby1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chester, England.
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I want to split my SkyHD sound 3-ways. Anybody know if linking 2 2-way optical splitters will degrade the signal?

For example: optical cable from Sky Box to splitter > then optical to surround sound box and one to another splitter > then 2 optical cables from the 2nd splitter to two pairs of headphones.

The two headphones will be switched off unitl needed, leaving only the surround sound "live" through the two splitters.

I'm not sure if there are any 3-way splitters out there? I'm not interested in a switch as I don't want change it manually or add another remote to my setup.

Thanks!

Lobby
Lobby1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 12-06-2012, 01:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 14,381
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 747 Post(s)
Liked: 1161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lobby1 View Post

I want to split my SkyHD sound 3-ways. Anybody know if linking 2 2-way optical splitters will degrade the signal?

For example: optical cable from Sky Box to splitter > then optical to surround sound box and one to another splitter > then 2 optical cables from the 2nd splitter to two pairs of headphones.

The two headphones will be switched off unitl needed, leaving only the surround sound "live" through the two splitters.

I'm not sure if there are any 3-way splitters out there? I'm not interested in a switch as I don't want change it manually or add another remote to my setup.

There are both active and passive TOSLINK splitters. The passive ones can't be cascaded endlessly but the active one can.

Here is what appears to be an example of an active TOSLINK splitter:

http://www.lindy-usa.com/2-way-toslink-digital-optical-70407.html

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812270485



Note that this optical splitter requires a power supply.
Lobby1 likes this.
arnyk is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 12-07-2012, 02:02 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Lobby1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chester, England.
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply.

So I guess I need two active splitters then.

Do you know what effect cascading two active splitters on to a TOSLINK switch will have? The switch has a power supply.

I have a lot of stuff hooked up to my TV.

Lobby.
Lobby1 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 12-07-2012, 04:09 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Lobby1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chester, England.
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can you cascade a passive splitter on to an active splitter without loss?
Lobby1 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 12-07-2012, 04:18 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 14,381
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 747 Post(s)
Liked: 1161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lobby1 View Post

Thanks for the reply.

So I guess I need two active splitters then.

Do you know what effect cascading two active splitters on to a TOSLINK switch will have? The switch has a power supply.

I have a lot of stuff hooked up to my TV.

I would not expect a lot of degradation with an active repeater, which is the core of an active splitter or active switch.

If you have a lot of optical to split up, you might move the splitting function into the electrical domain:



A coax splitter that is effective for digital audio is the same as a video splitter with a coax input and coax outputs.
Lobby1 likes this.
arnyk is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 12-07-2012, 04:55 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Lobby1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chester, England.
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the suggestions!

I think I'll try the doubling of the active splitters on the switch and see how that goes. I don't really need to do this, but I'm just being massively lazy and don't want to constantly plug and unplug cables.

My setup is as follows:

SkyHD>>>>>>>>>>4-Way TOSLINK Switch
Media player >>>>>4-Way TOSLINK Switch
BluRay Player >>>>4-Way TOSLINK Switch
TV>>>>>>>>>>>>> 4-Way TOSLINK Switch
PS3>>>>>>>>>>>> Surround Sound (Via HDMI)

4-Way TOSLINK Switch Output >>>>>>> Surround Sound

What I want is:


SkyHD>>>>>>>>>>4-Way TOSLINK Switch
Media player >>>>>4-Way TOSLINK Switch
BluRay Player >>>>4-Way TOSLINK Switch
TV>>>>>>>>>>>>> 4-Way TOSLINK Switch
PS3>>>>>>>>>>>> Surround Sound



4-Way TOSLINK Switch Output (Split as below):

Active TOSLINK Splitter 1:

Output 1: Surround Sound
Output 2: Active TOSLINK Splitter 2

Active TOSLINK Splitter 2:

Output 1: Wireless Digital Headphones 1
Output 2: Wireless Digital Headphones 2


Sound doable?

Thanks!

Lobby
Lobby1 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 01-04-2013, 09:05 AM
Member
 
roemerj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Greensburg, Pa., USA
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just ordered a 4-way Optical splitter. It must be fairly new cause I don't get any hits. Anyways it is a Bytecc OP-SP104 and can be purchased at Newegg for $29. Keeping my fingers crossed that it will work.
roemerj is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 01-04-2013, 09:11 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Lobby1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chester, England.
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Shame they don't ship to UK. Looks good though!
Lobby1 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 02-16-2013, 11:13 AM
Member
 
roemerj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Greensburg, Pa., USA
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just wanted to follow-up on my previous post that I really like the Bytecc 4-way active Toslink splitter, OP-SP-104. It works where others would not. I have a 50ft and a 100ft Toslink cable connected on the outputs and other end of the cables are able to receive and decode flawlessly. The 4 way was like $10 more than the 2-way so got the extra capacity just in case.
roemerj is offline  
Reply Audio theory, Setup and Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off