multi channel PCM in Windows 7 not working - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-23-2012, 07:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mattmooresucks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I'm attempting to output multichannel PCM from blu-rays, .mkv's, and games from my Windows 7 rig.

Radeon 6950 -> HDMI -> Harman Kardon AVR 247 with firmware update.

Bitstreaming DD and DTS works fine.
Using Dolby Digital Live and DTS Connect to encode and send surround game audio works fine.
The AVR 247 supposedly gained 5.1 and 7.1 multi channel LPCM support through the latest firmware upate which I just applied.

When I attempt to send multichannel PCM from my PC, my AVR seems to just be receiving just 2 channels. It shows only the front 2 channels lit up on the front display, and wants to upconvert with Pro Logic, etc. I've read from other 247 owners that it shows "Multichannel PCM" on the front display when it's working.

In Control Panel -> Sound, "AMD HDMI Output" shows 8 channels available for output.

Any ideas?
mattmooresucks is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-24-2012, 05:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 14,387
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 763 Post(s)
Liked: 1178
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattmooresucks View Post

I'm attempting to output multichannel PCM from blu-rays, .mkv's, and games from my Windows 7 rig.

Radeon 6950 -> HDMI -> Harman Kardon AVR 247 with firmware update.

Bitstreaming DD and DTS works fine.
Using Dolby Digital Live and DTS Connect to encode and send surround game audio works fine.
The AVR 247 supposedly gained 5.1 and 7.1 multi channel LPCM support through the latest firmware upate which I just applied.

When I attempt to send multichannel PCM from my PC, my AVR seems to just be receiving just 2 channels. It shows only the front 2 channels lit up on the front display, and wants to upconvert with Pro Logic, etc. I've read from other 247 owners that it shows "Multichannel PCM" on the front display when it's working.

In Control Panel -> Sound, "AMD HDMI Output" shows 8 channels available for output.

The player software usually has a lot to say about how this works.
arnyk is offline  
Old 12-24-2012, 09:49 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mattmooresucks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
My "player software" is PowerDVD 11, VLC, and tons of games. What can they say about how this works?
mattmooresucks is offline  
Old 12-24-2012, 11:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
krabapple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: in a state bordered by Kentucky and Maine
Posts: 5,360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 229
things to check:

Some HDMI implementations -- typically in older laptops -- do not permit >2 channels of PCM to be passed. If that's true, you're out of luck. Do some research on the 6950 to see if this is the case.

If you can, set output resolution to something high -- 720 or 1080. This should allow more bandwith for the signal.

Check your Windows 'playback devices' settings, turn off all processing for the HDMI output (you'll have to have HDMI connected to do this).

Make sure your software player settings are not downmixing either.

I use Foobar2000 (+ WASAPI output plugin) on a 2012 Sony VAIO laptop running Win 7, Intel HD Graphics 4000, HDMI output is 1080p, running into a late model DENON AVR -- no mch PCM audio issues over HDMI.
krabapple is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off