Did I just totally screw up??? - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 01-04-2013, 09:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Scared by AV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got done running 2 lengths of two conductor speaker wire under my carpet from 1 side of the room to the other and now that I have the carpet and furniture back in place I just realized I didn't label either conductor, on either length, "black" or "red"!! Did I just screw up badly or can I test the wire some how to make sure I put the same conductor on red on each side of the wire?
Scared by AV is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 01-04-2013, 09:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 7,867
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 766 Post(s)
Liked: 1156
Most have a coloration difference for each wire, or a ridge on one and smooth on the other....depends what you bought.

"I realize that somebody playing free music isn't as commercial as a hamburger stand. But is it because you can eat a hamburger and hold it in your hand and you can't do that with music? Is it too free to control?" - Don Van Vliet (aka Captain Beefheart) discussing commercial success in the music biz


lovinthehd is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 01-04-2013, 09:29 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Scared by AV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Radio shack white speaker wire...the conductors look exactly alike?!?!?! I can't just hook it up and test it? Won't it NOT work if I have it switched on 1 end?
Scared by AV is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 01-04-2013, 09:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Scared by AV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wait....I am an idiot and you are right. I swear when I first looked at it they looked exactly alike. Sorry, and thank you.
Scared by AV is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 01-04-2013, 09:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 7,867
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 766 Post(s)
Liked: 1156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scared by AV View Post

Wait....I am an idiot and you are right. I swear when I first looked at it they looked exactly alike. Sorry, and thank you.

No problem, been there done that. Hooking them up switched around will put your speakers out of phase (unless they were wired incorrectly internally which can on occasion actually happen).

"I realize that somebody playing free music isn't as commercial as a hamburger stand. But is it because you can eat a hamburger and hold it in your hand and you can't do that with music? Is it too free to control?" - Don Van Vliet (aka Captain Beefheart) discussing commercial success in the music biz


lovinthehd is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 01-05-2013, 12:03 PM
Newbie
 
possamai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just out of curiosity..
How would that affect things?
Would it degrade audio quality? Would it damage the speakers?
possamai is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 01-05-2013, 12:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 7,867
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 766 Post(s)
Liked: 1156
When two speakers are out of phase with each other they're not in sync so the audio will be off, a less focused sound than it should be. Won't harm your speakers. Try this http://www.thx.com/consumer/home-entertainment/home-theater/thx-optimizer/thx-optimizer-speaker-phase/

"I realize that somebody playing free music isn't as commercial as a hamburger stand. But is it because you can eat a hamburger and hold it in your hand and you can't do that with music? Is it too free to control?" - Don Van Vliet (aka Captain Beefheart) discussing commercial success in the music biz


lovinthehd is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 01-09-2013, 10:35 AM
Newbie
 
possamai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the explanation.. I suppose when both speakers are wired wrong (but in phase with each other) that's when you switch phase on a subwoofer..
possamai is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Audio Theory, Setup, and Chat

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off