Simplified REW Setup and Use (USB Mic & HDMI Connection) Including Measurement Techniques and How To Interpret Graphs - Page 645 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 1368Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19321 of 19342 Old Yesterday, 06:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 6,887
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1118 Post(s)
Liked: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post
Do any of them make AVRs with Dirac Live built in? Or pre-pros?
Scroll to the bottom of this page:
http://www.dirac.com/home-and-professional-audio/
Michael

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Downloadable FREE demo discs: Demonstration Blu-Ray Discs (Independently Authored)
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
LastButNotLeast is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19322 of 19342 Old Yesterday, 07:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 13,081
Mentioned: 110 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5065 Post(s)
Liked: 2863
Quote:
Originally Posted by citsur86 View Post
Thanks. Got it. So in your case is the 2x4 is just a consolidation device not doing any EQ?
The 2x4 is not doing any EQ. The only processing it does is to set the delays for the subs. I tried using REW-generated EQ filters in the 2x4 before running Dirac. After measuring the results both with EQ and without EQ in the 2x4, I did not see any difference (i.e. the 2x4 EQ was not adding anything). In the interests of keeping things as simple as possible, I disabled the 2x4 EQ.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #19323 of 19342 Old Yesterday, 07:20 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 13,081
Mentioned: 110 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5065 Post(s)
Liked: 2863
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post
Does this mean that you disable any room correction in your AVR or pre-pro and leave the trims and delays in that at defaults too? Letting the 88A do all of that?

Wondering how it works...
Yes, Audyssey is disabled in my 8802, trims and delays are all set to zero, and all speakers are set to "large" (the 88A has a more sophisticated bass management capability). All trims and delays are set by Dirac Live (in the same way that Audyssey sets trims and delays).
AustinJerry is offline  
post #19324 of 19342 Old Yesterday, 07:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 13,081
Mentioned: 110 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5065 Post(s)
Liked: 2863
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post
Do any of them make AVRs with Dirac Live built in? Or pre-pros?
Didn't Indus1 answer this for you already?
AustinJerry is offline  
post #19325 of 19342 Old Yesterday, 07:52 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10,575
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1569 Post(s)
Liked: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post
Does this mean that you disable any room correction in your AVR or pre-pro and leave the trims and delays in that at defaults too? Letting the 88A do all of that?

Wondering how it works...
Yes, Audyssey is disabled in my 8802, trims and delays are all set to zero, and all speakers are set to "large" (the 88A has a more sophisticated bass management capability). All trims and delays are set by Dirac Live (in the same way that Audyssey sets trims and delays).
Thanks for the details
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #19326 of 19342 Old Yesterday, 08:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
citsur86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 318 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Nice good to learn that something like that is available. When I click the pioneer link at the bottom of the Dirac page it takes me to a Japanese site. Wondering what AVRs have Dirac built in as well

==============================
FS: Proficient GL6 Center Channel Speaker
==============================

My Current "Living Room" Home Theater!
==============================
citsur86 is offline  
post #19327 of 19342 Old Yesterday, 09:09 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 13,081
Mentioned: 110 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5065 Post(s)
Liked: 2863
Quote:
Originally Posted by citsur86 View Post
Nice good to learn that something like that is available. When I click the pioneer link at the bottom of the Dirac page it takes me to a Japanese site. Wondering what AVRs have Dirac built in as well
The advantage of an outboard solution is that you can upgrade AVR's to take advantage of new technologies, yet retain the same room correction technology.
ahblaza likes this.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #19328 of 19342 Old Yesterday, 09:30 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10,575
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1569 Post(s)
Liked: 468
Quote:
Originally Posted by citsur86 View Post
Nice good to learn that something like that is available. When I click the pioneer link at the bottom of the Dirac page it takes me to a Japanese site. Wondering what AVRs have Dirac built in as well
Only concern I have with Dirac Live is overall cost/complexity of setup. Up til now even Audyssey XT32 was out of reach, but that Denon AVR-3300W is just close enough to the Audyssey XT AVRs I was comfortable spending money on to be worth the money. I'm currently using YPAO on a 2013 Yamaha AVR that was the lowest model in their entire range at the time. It was worth $250-$300 MSRP at the time, part of an entry level HTiB. That version of YPAO is good enough for the basics (setting trims, delay, and bass management) but it's auto PEQ has crappy sound quality despite marginal improvements in measured frequency response, particularly with treble.

The MiniDSP 2x4 unbalanced handles sub EQ more than well enough for me, but I need a better room correction solution for my 5 speaker channels.

Dirac Live would be ideal but I don't think Audyssey XT32 would disappoint, especially coming from my Yamaha HTR-3066.
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #19329 of 19342 Old Yesterday, 11:29 AM
Member
 
carminepesce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by citsur86 View Post
Nice good to learn that something like that is available. When I click the pioneer link at the bottom of the Dirac page it takes me to a Japanese site. Wondering what AVRs have Dirac built in as well
Emotiva XMC-1 Pre/Pro has Dirac Live buit-in. I haven't seen any AVR's yet with Dirac Live.
carminepesce is offline  
post #19330 of 19342 Old Yesterday, 11:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Lesmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 310 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by carminepesce View Post
Emotiva XMC-1 Pre/Pro has Dirac Live buit-in. I haven't seen any AVR's yet with Dirac Live.
Arcam 550 and 850
which also has Dirac EQ heights
Lesmor is online now  
post #19331 of 19342 Old Today, 12:55 AM
Member
 
indus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Hi

I didn't have the latest REW version and have rectified that now. I'm hoping the preferences are all now as they should be (please see screen shots 1 and 2.

I've redone the measurements. I've done them in two positions, the right hand corner, which appears as RC in the legend, and in the centre of the wall which appears as 'pos2'. To be honest because my room is quite small the two positions are only about 2ft apart.

I've also run the measurements at 80,90 and 100hz.

All measurements are taken with dirca EQ applied that has been calibrated for that particular position.

I'd be interested in any feedback. Most importantly whether the data actually looks 'real' now rather than measurement error. If it does look real whether either of the two positions and different cross overs look better.

Thanks very much.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	avs19.PNG
Views:	12
Size:	49.8 KB
ID:	1575097   Click image for larger version

Name:	avs20.PNG
Views:	10
Size:	44.6 KB
ID:	1575105   Click image for larger version

Name:	317ch3RC-80XO.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	52.7 KB
ID:	1575113   Click image for larger version

Name:	317ch3RC-90XO.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	61.0 KB
ID:	1575121   Click image for larger version

Name:	317ch4RC.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	74.8 KB
ID:	1575129  

Click image for larger version

Name:	317ch380XOWF.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	120.9 KB
ID:	1575137  

Last edited by indus1; Today at 01:02 AM.
indus1 is online now  
post #19332 of 19342 Old Today, 01:01 AM
Member
 
indus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Data from position 2 ie the centre of the wall

https://www.dropbox.com/s/6xq6c6tcyc...atRC.mdat?dl=0


https://www.dropbox.com/s/jssitpaks8...pos2.mdat?dl=0
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	317ch3-pos2-80xo.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	58.8 KB
ID:	1575145   Click image for larger version

Name:	317ch3-pos2-90xo.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	60.4 KB
ID:	1575153   Click image for larger version

Name:	317-ch3-pos2-100xo.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	67.4 KB
ID:	1575161   Click image for larger version

Name:	317ch380XOWF.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	120.9 KB
ID:	1575169  
indus1 is online now  
post #19333 of 19342 Old Today, 01:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 6,887
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1118 Post(s)
Liked: 770
Not critical, but isn't there a calibration file for that mic?

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
Downloadable FREE demo discs: Demonstration Blu-Ray Discs (Independently Authored)
Welcome to AVS - Get out while you still can!
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #19334 of 19342 Old Today, 02:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
Lesmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 310 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by indus1 View Post
Hi

I didn't have the latest REW version and have rectified that now. I'm hoping the preferences are all now as they should be (please see screen shots 1 and 2.

I've redone the measurements. I've done them in two positions, the right hand corner, which appears as RC in the legend, and in the centre of the wall which appears as 'pos2'. To be honest because my room is quite small the two positions are only about 2ft apart.

I've also run the measurements at 80,90 and 100hz.

All measurements are taken with dirca EQ applied that has been calibrated for that particular position.

I'd be interested in any feedback. Most importantly whether the data actually looks 'real' now rather than measurement error. If it does look real whether either of the two positions and different cross overs look better.

Thanks very much.
Just so you are aware I see under preferences screenshot 2 you have not selected a timing reference
Lesmor is online now  
post #19335 of 19342 Old Today, 02:10 AM
Member
 
indus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lesmor View Post
Just so you are aware I see under preferences screenshot 2 you have not selected a timing reference

Thanks Andy

I'm pretty sure that's what I was adviced by Matt and Jerry to do. I hope it was anyway......
indus1 is online now  
post #19336 of 19342 Old Today, 02:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Lesmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 310 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by indus1 View Post
Thanks Andy

I'm pretty sure that's what I was adviced by Matt and Jerry to do. I hope it was anyway......
Fair enough perhaps I have my settings wrong.
Do you hear your timing reference speaker "ping" just before the sweep?
Good to see that your readings are getting better although t looks like the crossovers need some work.

Could I suggest changing your descriptions away from using CH numbers and use something like
FL + Subs Eqd
Centre+Subs Eqd
FR+Subs Eqd
Might make it easier to read.
I also don't know what the numbers in your description refers to, is there a need for them?
Lesmor is online now  
post #19337 of 19342 Old Today, 02:31 AM
Member
 
indus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lesmor View Post
Fair enough perhaps I have my settings wrong.
Do you hear your timing reference speaker "ping" just before the sweep?
Good to see that your readings are getting better although t looks like the crossovers need some work.

Could I suggest changing your descriptions away from using CH numbers and use something like
FL + Subs Eqd
Centre+Subs Eqd
FR+Subs Eqd
Might make it easier to read.
I also don't know what the numbers in your description refers to, is there a need for them?

No, I didn't hear a ping. I think I was adviced to turn TR off in 'analysis'.

The numbers are just the date, ie 31/7 for all of them. You're right though, no need for them really.
indus1 is online now  
post #19338 of 19342 Old Today, 03:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
3ll3d00d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,208
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1213 Post(s)
Liked: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by LastButNotLeast View Post
Not critical, but isn't there a calibration file for that mic?
the cal file entry shown in the preferences is for the soundcard rather than the mic (though no reason why you can't apply a mic cal in that slot)

@indus1 you have the cal file loaded on the mic tab right?
3ll3d00d is online now  
post #19339 of 19342 Old Today, 03:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
Lesmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 601
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 310 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by indus1 View Post
No, I didn't hear a ping. I think I was adviced to turn TR off in 'analysis'.

The numbers are just the date, ie 31/7 for all of them. You're right though, no need for them really.
Ok strange as quite a few use the timing reference plus AFAIK you need it for the impulse charts no biggy something for the future once the basics are sorted.

Yup just type over the date as it will still have a date stamp below and will make things easier to read.
Lesmor is online now  
post #19340 of 19342 Old Today, 03:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
3ll3d00d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,208
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1213 Post(s)
Liked: 404
you only need a timing reference if you plan to use data in a way that requires absolute or relative phase to be preserved across measurements

in this case, he was having a lot of difficulty getting any decent data so we advised to turn off anything that adds complexity to his setup
3ll3d00d is online now  
post #19341 of 19342 Old Today, 03:07 AM
Member
 
indus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lesmor View Post
Ok strange as quite a few use the timing reference plus AFAIK you need it for the impulse charts no biggy something for the future once the basics are sorted.

Yup just type over the date as it will still have a date stamp below and will make things easier to read.

I think we're saving TR for later, once I've got the basics sorted
indus1 is online now  
post #19342 of 19342 Old Today, 03:10 AM
Member
 
indus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3ll3d00d View Post
the cal file entry shown in the preferences is for the soundcard rather than the mic (though no reason why you can't apply a mic cal in that slot)

@indus1 you have the cal file loaded on the mic tab right?

Hi Matt

Yes, I definitely have the 90 degree umik cal file loaded. It shows in the 'mic/meter' tab on preferences.

Thanks
indus1 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Audio Theory, Setup, and Chat

Tags
Dayton , Dayton Audio , Room Equilizer Wizard Rew



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off