Grouning problem with Lepai Tripath amp, please help - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 01-20-2013, 12:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
pascal210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I really like my new Lepai Tripath Class-T amp (http://amzn.to/W9fPmF) but it produces a high pitched whine that really ruins it. When I touch the outside box it somewhat decreases. This makes me think it needs to be grounded. It takes a 12V adapter. Is there one that will ground it? I know a little about electronics, how could I ground it myself?
Thanks!
pascal210 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 01-20-2013, 01:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
xianthax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
What is the power supply your using?

If it has a ground prong on it, try it without the prong, e.g. use a 3 prong to 2 prong adaptor
xianthax is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 01-20-2013, 01:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
pascal210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It doesn't have a 3rd prong, only two. Should I get one with three?
pascal210 is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 01-20-2013, 02:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
xianthax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
If you have one laying around, its worth a shot.

You've basically got some sort of ground loop going on. The strange thing is, if there is no ground at the AC/DC transformer (wall wart), then it should be floating.

I'm guessing the metal case of that amp is connected to its ground. Is it touching anything metal? Specifically anything metal that is also touching some of your other equipment?
xianthax is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 01-20-2013, 02:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
pascal210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's on a wood shelf, but next to two bookshelf speakers and a keyboard. I could get a photo if that would help.

Is there some way that I could add a ground wire, maybe soldered to some component in the board and then running somewhere else?
pascal210 is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 01-20-2013, 03:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
xianthax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The safest thing to do is try a grounded 12v supply first. It may or may or fix the problem so it could be a complete waste of money, but should be ~$10 or something like that.

You can try grounding the chassis to see if that fixes it, but finding an earth ground to connect to can be potentially dangerous to you and the amplifier if your not familiar with what your doing.

Side question: What is plugged into it? Is there something plugged into both the RCA and 3.5 inputs?
xianthax is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 01-20-2013, 06:08 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
pascal210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an iPod Classic plugged in through the RCA port. As a side note, I have my speakers bi-wired, and my 12V adapter is coming from a really nice power strip which is plugged into an outlet with the ground lifted (I live in an old house). The power strip says that "my equipment is protected" because a little LED with that title is on, but the other led in the actual power switch is flickering. Power isn't flickering though.
Anything look wrong here?
pascal210 is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 01-20-2013, 06:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
xianthax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well, both the amp and the ipod have virtual grounds, I don't actually see what could be causing the ground loop, if it is a ground loop.

My only guess is to try a grounded 12V supply.
xianthax is offline  
Reply Audio theory, Setup and Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off