HELP -- Using Active Studio Monitors as HT/Music Mains with AVR! - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 01-22-2013, 08:03 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
razzy3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ansonia, CT
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so i need some help hooking up my M-Audio DSM2 Studio Monitors (Active) to my yamaha rx-a3000 AVR to fill the role as my mains until they sell/I get my new speakers.

anyone who knows how to get this thing plugged in properly?

here's a pic of the rear panel of the monitors

thanks biggrin.gif

i just got a new subwoofer and now i want another one...what in the world is wrong with me?!
razzy3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 01-22-2013, 08:42 AM
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Connect preamp output to analog input.
SAM64 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 01-22-2013, 09:08 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
razzy3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ansonia, CT
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10


here's the back panel of my AVR

i just got a new subwoofer and now i want another one...what in the world is wrong with me?!
razzy3 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 01-22-2013, 09:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
JD in NJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Right. Take that section labeled "Pre Out" and run an RCA -> 1/4" or RCA -> XLR or RCA -> RCA with adapter for 1/4" or XLR to each speaker from the appropriately labeled jack.

JD in NJ is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 01-22-2013, 09:38 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
razzy3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ansonia, CT
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAM64 View Post

Connect preamp output to analog input.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD in NJ View Post

Right. Take that section labeled "Pre Out" and run an RCA -> 1/4" or RCA -> XLR or RCA -> RCA with adapter for 1/4" or XLR to each speaker from the appropriately labeled jack.

thank you both biggrin.gif

i just got a new subwoofer and now i want another one...what in the world is wrong with me?!
razzy3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Audio Theory, Setup, and Chat

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off