Connecting your AV receiver & speakers to your TV and other devices - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 01-30-2013, 07:47 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am a newbie to this forum and a newbie to home theater systems altogether. What is the best way to setup your AV receiver, speakers and other devices. I only have a Panasonic GT50 TV, blue ray player, directv satellite box, and Wii. I have not purchased a receiver or speakers yet but have been doing some research. I want the setup to be as easy as possible so that i dont have to turn on several remotes just to watch TV (my wife will kill me). I also will not be using the surround sound speakers at all times as i have kids that still take naps and go to bed early. Can i simply plug all my devices into the receivers HDMI in and connect 1 HDMI out to the TV? Do i need an optical cable running from the TV to the receiver? Or is it better to connect all devices to the TV and 1 optical cable to the receiver? I'm assuming i need a receiver with the capability of HDMI pass through so i can watch TV using the TV speakers if i need to. I'm aslo looking for suggestions on receivers and speakers or HTIB. budget is between $400 to $600 for everything. Speaker cable is already ran in my family room when i purchased the house. Thank you.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 01-30-2013, 07:59 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 134
You seem to have a good handle on how things work. I'd suggest including a Harmony remote in your set up, which simplifies all the input switching. Very family friendly.

HDMI passthrough should allow you to use the TV speakers. But, CEC can be a bit squirrelly at times.

Run everything through the receiver, not the TV. TVs usually output stereo from HDMI attached devices.
post #3 of 5 Old 01-30-2013, 08:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 753 Post(s)
Liked: 1167
Quote: