Richard Gray 1200 Custom blew up! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-03-2013, 11:13 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Gates's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Wow my unit wasn't working on one side anymore so I decided to check the fuse. The cover came off but the fuse stayed inside. I tried taking it out with pliers but it was just pushing in further. So I took off the top and this is what I found...






Checking with my dealer to see if it's still on warranty. If not, is this an easy fix? Just the fuse should of blown, not the whole thing!
Gates is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-03-2013, 11:27 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 14,387
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 763 Post(s)
Liked: 1178
In this case you'd just replace the fuse holder, which are available in many styles on the web and at an electronics parts supply store.
arnyk is offline  
Old 02-03-2013, 03:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 8,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 252
This is why this stuff needs to be UL listed. I don't know if the RGPC unit is or not. But this could have resulted in a fire.

Another observation: Note the "MTW" rating on the red wire in the middle picture. MTW is Machine Tool Wire and is listed for the internal wiring of machines such as here. My point is that this wire is as common as lamp cord. Now it's just fine for this application but isn't it interesting how a foo foo power conditioner just uses the cheapest wire available for the job at hand.

Glimmie's HT Page
Being redone - comming soon!

Glimmie is offline  
Old 02-03-2013, 04:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
K Shep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I never understood power isolation/purification components, especially at the $2200 price point for the 1200 custom unit.
K Shep is offline  
Old 02-03-2013, 05:08 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Gates's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by arnyk View Post

In this case you'd just replace the fuse holder, which are available in many styles on the web and at an electronics parts supply store.

Thanks, I'll see if it's still under warranty. My dealer said he was sending the pics to his distributor.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glimmie View Post

This is why this stuff needs to be UL listed. I don't know if the RGPC unit is or not. But this could have resulted in a fire.

Another observation: Note the "MTW" rating on the red wire in the middle picture. MTW is Machine Tool Wire and is listed for the internal wiring of machines such as here. My point is that this wire is as common as lamp cord. Now it's just fine for this application but isn't it interesting how a foo foo power conditioner just uses the cheapest wire available for the job at hand.

I couldn't tell you if it was. I agree with the fire part. It's making me concerned now even if it does get fixed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by K Shep View Post

I never understood power isolation/purification components, especially at the $2200 price point for the 1200 custom unit.

Well this was the first and the last.
Gates is offline  
Old 02-03-2013, 05:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
amirm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Washington State
Posts: 18,375
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 981 Post(s)
Liked: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glimmie View Post

This is why this stuff needs to be UL listed. I don't know if the RGPC unit is or not. But this could have resulted in a fire.
It is both CSA and CE rated and claims compliance with UL 1449: http://www.richardgrayspowercompany.com/pdf/parallel/1200.pdf. So there is no issue there.

I wonder if the wrong fuse was put in there.

Amir
Retired Technology Insider
Founder, Madrona Digital
"Insist on Quality Engineering"
amirm is offline  
Old 02-03-2013, 05:20 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Gates's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by amirm View Post

It is both CSA and CE rated and claims compliance with UL 1449: http://www.richardgrayspowercompany.com/pdf/parallel/1200.pdf. So there is no issue there.

I wonder if the wrong fuse was put in there.

I've had it for 3 years running on the same fuse I bought it with, new in box.
Gates is offline  
Old 02-03-2013, 11:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Glimmie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 8,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by amirm View Post

It is both CSA and CE rated and claims compliance with UL 1449: http://www.richardgrayspowercompany.com/pdf/parallel/1200.pdf. So there is no issue there.

I wonder if the wrong fuse was put in there.

Well it says it's "compatible with UL1449" Now isn't that just like an high end audio product blurb!

Translation: "no our products are not UL listed but we are compatible with their standards" WTF?

However it does show CSA as well as European CE, and IMPE, that's good enough.

P.S. For those that care, UL1449 are the standards for surge protection devices. From my research, this came about in the early 2000s after reports of power strip meltdowns due to partially shorted varistors.

Glimmie's HT Page
Being redone - comming soon!

Glimmie is offline  
Old 02-06-2013, 09:55 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Gates's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Finally got a reply from my dealer asking me to bring in the unit for repair.
Gates is offline  
Old 02-07-2013, 12:00 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
amirm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Washington State
Posts: 18,375
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 981 Post(s)
Liked: 547
It is interesting that only one end of the fuse is charred. This means the problem was not that too much current went through it or it would not look so clean at one end.

What I think happened is that the end end of the fuse was not making a solid connection. As a result, it overheated and caused the terminals to melt away over time. Did it have a screw cap? And if so, was it loose? If not, then this is a defective fuse holder.

Either way, make sure they don't charge you a dime. It is clearly a manufacturing problem.

Amir
Retired Technology Insider
Founder, Madrona Digital
"Insist on Quality Engineering"
amirm is offline  
Old 02-07-2013, 05:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 14,387
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 763 Post(s)
Liked: 1178
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gates View Post

Finally got a reply from my dealer asking me to bring in the unit for repair.

for what you paid for this amp, he should be sending someone to pick it up and bring a spare for you do use while it is gone!

BTW total agreement with the3 posts above mine.
arnyk is offline  
Old 02-07-2013, 07:40 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Gates's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by amirm View Post

It is interesting that only one end of the fuse is charred. This means the problem was not that too much current went through it or it would not look so clean at one end.

What I think happened is that the end end of the fuse was not making a solid connection. As a result, it overheated and caused the terminals to melt away over time. Did it have a screw cap? And if so, was it loose? If not, then this is a defective fuse holder.

Either way, make sure they don't charge you a dime. It is clearly a manufacturing problem.

No they aren't charging me, thank god. I would of thrown a fit in the store if that was the case LOL. For the price I paid for that thing....I agree with your assessment. I don't think it was a current spike or anything like that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by arnyk View Post

for what you paid for this amp, he should be sending someone to pick it up and bring a spare for you do use while it is gone!

BTW total agreement with the3 posts above mine.

Ya seriously! I don't think I'll ever buy a power center this expensive again!
Gates is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off