HDMI to optical audio - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 02-09-2013, 05:33 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Mclevin151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a number of devices that I plan to hook up via Hdmi cables. My tv has an optical out, so if I run the optical cable to my surround sound, will I get 5.1 from the signal the tv is receiving from the Hdmi cables.
Mclevin151 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 02-09-2013, 06:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,409
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 281
With most TV's, no. You will only get PCM stereo.
Ratman is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 02-09-2013, 08:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
commsysman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,254
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 250
I don't know what you mean by "surround sound".

Do you have a HT receiver?

What model and make?

The normal best practice is to connect all source devices to your HT receiver, and run either component-video cables or an HDMI cable from the outputs of the reciver to the TV.

With some receivers you must run 3 component-video cables to the TV (rather than HDMI), because the receiver menus do not come through with HDMI.
commsysman is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 02-09-2013, 10:58 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Mclevin151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, I meant to say surround sound system. Yes it is a home theater system. Basically, the system has 1 digital optical input but I want to hook multiple devices to it without a digital optical switch. The tv is an older Panasonic vista plasma. The HT is a Samsung ht-x70. Thanks.
Mclevin151 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 02-09-2013, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Older Panasonics do not pass DD 5.1 or DTS from external sources. You'll need to get a switch.
BIslander is online now  
post #6 of 6 Old 02-09-2013, 08:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jdcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 2,006
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIslander View Post

Older Panasonics do not pass DD 5.1 or DTS from external sources. You'll need to get a switch.
Newer ones dont either.tongue.gif
jdcrox is offline  
Reply Audio theory, Setup and Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off