Home Theater Advice for New Apartment - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 2 Old 02-18-2013, 10:25 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Recently moved into my own place in NYC and have started the process of assembling a home theater for television, movies, and music. I want a nice system that is versatile (I'm renting so I may not be in the same place next year) and great value. I'm willing to spend up to $4,000 for the receiver and speakers but want to get others thoughts on whether I should invest this much in a system for an apartment space that is not ideal and subject to change. Here is the list of my current components:

Television: Panasonic TC-P55ST50
Media Center: BDI Avion Series II
Blu-Ray: Oppo BDP-103

The receiver I'm thinking of buying is the Marantz SR7007. I have no experience in speakers and that's where I'm looking for most suggestions. I'd say the split between TV/Movies and Music will almost be 50/50. Music listening will be for when I have guests over or if I'm working from home. I'm questioning whether I should get a sub as this is NYC and I don't want to annoy my neighbors -- anyone face a similar predicament? I've attached the general layout of my apartment and tried to make it to scale as much as possible. One thing to note -- I only have about 10.5 inches between the walls and my media center on each side for speakers.

Am I crazy to spend that much on a receiver/speaker combo given my situation? What speakers/receivers should I be looking for to help find the right system for me?

Apartment Layout.pdf 44k .pdf file
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Apartment Layout.pdf (43.5 KB, 20 views)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 2 Old 02-22-2013, 02:06 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Wow, that is a really small apartment! eek.gif