making stereo input output to center and front speakers - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 02-20-2013, 09:52 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
videopotus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All,

Is there a way to make stereo input (such as from broadcast tv) output to my center channel speaker as well as my front speakers? My feeling is that since I bought a center speaker, I want sound to come out of it.

I have a Denon 1613 and an Oppo BDP-103. The cable input runs through both so settings on either would work.

I see in the manual for the Oppo about the settings for down converting 7.1 to 5.1 or 5.1 to stereo, but nothing about up converting--if that is even possible, or advised, Did I miss something in the manual? Is this a bad idea to even want this?

I've also explored the Denon settings, but no dice.

Any help would be appreciated.

videopotus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 02-20-2013, 10:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
4DHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: sierra ecuadoriana
Posts: 5,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Well, you run the tv audio out into the Denon. Then connect the L/C/R output from the Denon to the three speakers.
You then set the Denon output to Dolby PLii, or dts-neo6, which will convert stereo input to muti-channel output.

You will need to setup the speaker menu in the Denon so it knows you have LCRs.
4DHD is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 02-20-2013, 11:06 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
videopotus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmmm. I thought I did that.

videopotus is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 02-20-2013, 11:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
4DHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: sierra ecuadoriana
Posts: 5,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by videopotus View Post

Hmmm. I thought I did that.

If its not working, then you need to re-check all the settings in the AVR.
4DHD is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 02-21-2013, 11:14 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
videopotus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did a reboot of the Denon. Now it is working and displaying PL IIc.

Thanks!

videopotus is offline  
Reply Audio theory, Setup and Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off