my subwoofer won't work with my Sony Receiver (STR-DH520) and Playstation 3...LFE light indicator on the receiver - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 02-27-2013, 08:24 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dooskle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The subwoofer actually works when the game is selected in the main PS3 screen (music playing in the background - sub working), but once you actually go into the game, an LFE indicator light comes on when the game starts up and the sub doesn't work. This sub has worked perfectly with past receivers and the PS3. Whats up with my new receiver and this issue. thanks much for everyone's help! {and no there is nothing in the owners manual for this one:) }
dooskle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 02-28-2013, 09:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
commsysman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 5,353
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Just wire the high-level inputs of the sub to the main speaker terminals.

That way anything that goes to the main speakers also goes to the sub.
commsysman is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 02-28-2013, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rapid City, South Dakota
Posts: 3,505
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1157 Post(s)
Liked: 585
What new receiver did you get?

AVR: Denon 4520ci, FL/R: Klipschorn, CC: Klipsch RC64ii, SUR: Polk LS F/X x 4, SUB: PSA T-18 x 2, DISP: Mitsubishi WD-73740, BluRay: PS3 & BDP-S5100, Remote: URC MX-700
--------------------------------------------------
Getting Started with REW
Audyssey 101
Audyssey FAQ
Alan P is online now  
post #4 of 13 Old 03-01-2013, 05:05 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dooskle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sony STR-DH520
dooskle is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 03-01-2013, 07:47 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dooskle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So would i not use the subwoofer coax? or use that + the high level inputs? Attached is a picture of the back of the sub. Are the speaker jacks in the top left the "high level input and outputs"?
dooskle is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 03-02-2013, 12:03 AM
Senior Member
 
ironhead1230's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 47
You should not have to use the high / speaker level connections to get your sub working. I'm guessing the problem is how the receiver is configured for different sound formats. Besides LFE, what else is the receiver showing? (SUB, DTS, Dolby Digital, etc.) Are your speakers set to small?

Slightly unrelated to your problem, but from your picture it looks like you have the cable connected to the "Subwoofer Input" and "Right Line Out" jacks. This is not correct. You should use only the "Subwoofer Input" or use the Y splitter to the left and right "line input" jacks.

-Mike
ironhead1230 is online now  
post #7 of 13 Old 03-02-2013, 08:16 AM
Senior Member
 
underminded999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 16
^^^
Only use the RCA LFE jack, not, and left RCA jack.

-_999_-
underminded999 is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 03-02-2013, 09:42 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dooskle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
where is that? I don't have an LFE jack on my sub do I?
dooskle is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 03-02-2013, 09:43 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dooskle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
its showing Dolby Digital. It doesn't matter how I configure the receiver, the sub doesn't work when the game is playing. It works fine with music and in the main menu of the PS3.
dooskle is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 03-03-2013, 10:38 AM
Senior Member
 
underminded999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Sorry, pic too small to make out. What is the jack under the freq knob?

-_999_-
underminded999 is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 03-03-2013, 12:56 PM
Senior Member
 
ironhead1230's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by dooskle View Post

where is that? I don't have an LFE jack on my sub do I?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dooskle View Post

its showing Dolby Digital. It doesn't matter how I configure the receiver, the sub doesn't work when the game is playing. It works fine with music and in the main menu of the PS3.

You have a total of 5 RCA jacks on the back of the sub. The photo is a bit blurry, but from what I can see and from the one manual I found: The bottom pair is Left / Right Line Out. The top pair is Left / Right Line In. The single jack is a Subwoofer In. You have two options to correctly connect the sub to your receiver. First option is to use a single RCA connected to the Subwoofer In. The second option is to use a Y adapter or splitter connected to the L and R Line In jacks. You currently have a Y splitter connected to the Subwoofer In and the Right Line Out jack. This is not correct. I would correct the cabling and see if that fixes the problem.

-Mike
ironhead1230 is online now  
post #12 of 13 Old 03-03-2013, 07:10 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dooskle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
forgot to mention, i did fix my RCA connection. I am now using the Y connectors in the proper arrangement. The only time the LFE light is on, on the receiver, is when the PS3 game plays. So basically, if the LFE light is on, the sub doesn't work. It works fine for all other modes (inputs), just not the games. Can't figure out how to get the LFE light off...
dooskle is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 03-04-2013, 07:21 AM
Senior Member
 
ironhead1230's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by dooskle View Post

forgot to mention, i did fix my RCA connection. I am now using the Y connectors in the proper arrangement. The only time the LFE light is on, on the receiver, is when the PS3 game plays. So basically, if the LFE light is on, the sub doesn't work. It works fine for all other modes (inputs), just not the games. Can't figure out how to get the LFE light off...

You cannot or even want to turn off the LFE light. That shows whether there is a dedicated .1 or LFE channel in the source that is currently being played. The music you play and the PS3 menus are most likely stereo sources, which mean they do not have a dedicated LFE track. So the LFE light is off. The games you are playing are Dolby Digital so are probably 5.1 mixes, which means they do have a LFE track. So the LFE light is on. I am guessing the problem now is the receiver is configured differently for different formats. While a game is playing, verify the "pattern" setting is set correctly. (3/2.1 for a standard 5.1 speaker setup) Also verify all your speakers are set to small and post here what each crossover is set to.

Did you run the auto calibration or manually calibrate?
ironhead1230 is online now  
Reply Audio Theory, Setup, and Chat

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off