Speaker set up. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 33 Old 03-05-2013, 11:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mawnkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will be purchasing a Yamaha v373 reciever soon and some speakers and will need help setting it up. For now my question is what type of wires should I use for my system? Gauge? Brand? I'm new to this and any and all help would be appreciated
mawnkey is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 33 Old 03-06-2013, 04:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
baniels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: 52556
Posts: 1,007
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Monoprice.com has some adequate and affordable cable. bluejeanscable.com, too.

Have a look at this. http://www.roger-russell.com/wire.htm#wiretable

This may also be helpful.
http://www.audioholics.com/tweaks/connecting-your-system/receiver-setup-and-connections
baniels is offline  
post #3 of 33 Old 03-06-2013, 06:00 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 13,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 458 Post(s)
Liked: 1068
Quote:
Originally Posted by mawnkey View Post

I will be purchasing a Yamaha v373 reciever soon and some speakers and will need help setting it up. For now my question is what type of wires should I use for my system? Gauge? Brand? I'm new to this and any and all help would be appreciated

Speaker cables or interconnects?

Cable lengths?

For speaker cable, the "one size fits all" solution is 12 or 14 gauge wire such as these:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10239&cs_id=1023902&p_id=2820&seq=1&format=2

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=102&cp_id=10239&cs_id=1023901&p_id=2817&seq=1&format=2

arnyk is offline  
post #4 of 33 Old 03-06-2013, 08:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mawnkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not sure what interconnects are. The lengths are to be determined, but how much better would the 12 gauge be than the 14?
mawnkey is offline  
post #5 of 33 Old 03-06-2013, 08:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arnyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Grosse Pointe Woods, MI
Posts: 13,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 458 Post(s)
Liked: 1068
Quote:
Originally Posted by mawnkey View Post

I'm not sure what interconnects are.

Cables with RCA connectors on each end. For example:


Quote:
The lengths are to be determined, but how much better would the 12 gauge be than the 14?

Depends on the length, but never too much.
arnyk is offline  
post #6 of 33 Old 03-06-2013, 09:56 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mawnkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The lengths would be no longer than 25ft
mawnkey is offline  
post #7 of 33 Old 03-06-2013, 03:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mawnkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How would the speaker wire from say Walmart handle the speakers? It would be 14 gauge?
mawnkey is offline  
post #8 of 33 Old 03-06-2013, 05:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
baniels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: 52556
Posts: 1,007
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 43
It should list the gauge. It could be 14, maybe 16. Either of which would be fine for at 25 or more ft as long as your speakers are 4ohm or higher - which is extremely likely. Take a peek at the first link I gave you above)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mawnkey View Post

How would the speaker wire from say Walmart handle the speakers? It would be 14 gauge?
baniels is offline  
post #9 of 33 Old 03-06-2013, 05:44 PM
Senior Member
 
underminded999's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by mawnkey View Post

How would the speaker wire from say Walmart handle the speakers? It would be 14 gauge?

I use monoprice b/c of the price. Assuming, you aren't loosing $, then any brand would work.(ducks for cover, from the snake oil merchants...)
underminded999 is offline  
post #10 of 33 Old 03-06-2013, 05:55 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mawnkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
LOL sounds good I think they may be cheaper. That and instant gratification lol
mawnkey is offline  
post #11 of 33 Old 03-07-2013, 08:53 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mawnkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay I have my set up running with the receiver and my center. Where should I set my crossover?
mawnkey is offline  
post #12 of 33 Old 03-07-2013, 09:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GregLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Waimanalo HI
Posts: 3,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by mawnkey View Post

Okay I have my set up running with the receiver and my center. Where should I set my crossover?
80Hz. (But it's arguable.)

Greg Lee
GregLee is offline  
post #13 of 33 Old 03-07-2013, 09:35 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mawnkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will do. Iv noted my speaker sounds great but with certain songs it doesn't sound so good with the bass. How can I modify so it doesn't sound like that?
mawnkey is offline  
post #14 of 33 Old 03-07-2013, 09:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GregLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Waimanalo HI
Posts: 3,151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Run the YPAO calibration program, if you haven't yet. Try different room positions for the subwoofer. (A lot has been written about getting good bass from a sub.)

Greg Lee
GregLee is offline  
post #15 of 33 Old 03-08-2013, 07:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mawnkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will look for some material on sub location. It's kinda pointless to run it right now since I only have one speaker. Tomorrow I get the rest so ill run it then
mawnkey is offline  
post #16 of 33 Old 03-08-2013, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 1,812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 152
After you get all your speakers hooked up, and after you run the auto calibration program, set all speakers to "small" with a crossover of 80hz.

A good method of finding the prime sub location is the SUB CRAWL.
Alan P is online now  
post #17 of 33 Old 03-08-2013, 10:57 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mawnkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you Alan. What's the reason for the small speaker setting vs the large speaker setting?
mawnkey is offline  
post #18 of 33 Old 03-08-2013, 11:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
JD in NJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by mawnkey View Post

Thank you Alan. What's the reason for the small speaker setting vs the large speaker setting?

Because if you set your speakers to 'small' (which is a terrible misnomer for the intent of that setting) then your AVR will redirect low frequencies from that speaker channel to the subwoofer.

JD in NJ is offline  
post #19 of 33 Old 03-08-2013, 11:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 1,812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Well, it is debatable, but the short answer is: 80hz is where the directional bass frequencies begin - if you send any frequencies above 80hz to your sub, you risk localization. Not a problem if your sub is close to your FL/R speakers, but if (like most) you have to put your sub along a side wall or behind the MLP, localizing it is not something you want.

One thing I should have mentioned that is quite important: if your AVR's auto calibration sets any of your speakers at a crossover higher than 80hz, you should not lower it. Only raise speakers that the auto cal set lower than 80hz.


EDIT: Geez, I should really read the question, eh? What JD said. biggrin.gif
Alan P is online now  
post #20 of 33 Old 03-08-2013, 11:03 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mawnkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That makes good sense. Thanks
mawnkey is offline  
post #21 of 33 Old 03-08-2013, 11:57 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mawnkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not so sure on how I can change the cross over individually. I see a crossover for all of them
mawnkey is offline  
post #22 of 33 Old 03-08-2013, 11:57 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mawnkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not so sure on how I can change the cross over individually. I see a crossover for all of them
mawnkey is offline  
post #23 of 33 Old 03-08-2013, 12:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
JD in NJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 645
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by mawnkey View Post

I'm not so sure on how I can change the cross over individually. I see a crossover for all of them

Then generalize the advice to "if the crossover is set to below 80, raise it to 80. If it's above 80 leave it alone".

To be fair, some folks like a slightly higher crossover for various reasons, and there's no harm in experimenting with it a bit to see if it works better for you at, say, 100.

JD in NJ is offline  
post #24 of 33 Old 03-08-2013, 01:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 1,812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Yeah, personally I use 120hz (OMG, the horror! smile.gif ). Of course, that is subject to change because I'm still dialing in my new subs, but for now, I like how it sounds at 120hz. biggrin.gif
Alan P is online now  
post #25 of 33 Old 03-08-2013, 04:15 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mawnkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
LOL alright ill play with it
mawnkey is offline  
post #26 of 33 Old 03-11-2013, 08:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mawnkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's all set up now. I watched Prometheus yesterday and I had it to 7.1 audio. Is that correct even though its a 5.1?
mawnkey is offline  
post #27 of 33 Old 03-12-2013, 04:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 123
What do you mean that you "had it to 7.1 audio"? If you mean you played the 7.1 track, that's OK. As long as you configured your receiver as 5.1 when you set it up, the AVR will make sure the data for the rear channels is downmixed into the surrounds.
BIslander is offline  
post #28 of 33 Old 03-12-2013, 11:13 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mawnkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I mean that the bluray is sending 7.1 audio into the reciever but if it mixes the backs and the sides then I'm good
mawnkey is offline  
post #29 of 33 Old 03-12-2013, 11:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Alan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 1,812
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Well, the Prometheus Blu Ray only has DTS MA 5.1 so you are not getting 7.1 into the AVR with that disc.

If you want sound from your surround back speakers with 5.1 content, you will have to use the Dolby PLIIx or DTS NEO 6 surround setting to matrix SR/SL info into the back channels.
Alan P is online now  
post #30 of 33 Old 03-12-2013, 11:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Why do you say the receiver is sending 7.1?
BIslander is offline  
Reply Audio theory, Setup and Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off