sony issues - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 03-06-2013, 03:36 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
doerun6217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently bought a Sony Bravia 46" EX64 LED smart tv and a sony DAV-TZ140 dvd home theater system. I have connected them with the HDMI cable and the effect is wonderful. My tv has a single audio RCA jack for audio out and the theater system has 2 RCA jack audio in. there is no digital audio cable plug in for the theater system.

My question is can I play the TV sound through the theater system...for example. I can excess "youtube" and play a video, but the sound only comes from the tv itself. How can I connect the two of them so that when I play a "youtube" video from the tv it will come through my theater system?

Thanks in advance for the help.
doerun6217 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 03-06-2013, 06:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 135
That is a very limited home theater system. It doesn't play Blu-ray discs, limiting you to SD video on your new HD set. And it had no digital audio inputs for external devices. You could buy a device that converts digital audio to analog stereo. But, they aren't cheap. I think you'd be better served getting an inexpensive system that plays Blu-rays and has digital audio inputs.
BIslander is online now  
post #3 of 14 Old 03-06-2013, 10:56 AM
Member
 
SonyListens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by doerun6217 View Post

I recently bought a Sony Bravia 46" EX64 LED smart tv and a sony DAV-TZ140 dvd home theater system. I have connected them with the HDMI cable and the effect is wonderful. My tv has a single audio RCA jack for audio out and the theater system has 2 RCA jack audio in. there is no digital audio cable plug in for the theater system.

My question is can I play the TV sound through the theater system...for example. I can excess "youtube" and play a video, but the sound only comes from the tv itself. How can I connect the two of them so that when I play a "youtube" video from the tv it will come through my theater system?

Thanks in advance for the help.

Good afternoon doerun6217!

I would recommend first trying this link: to our YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N-bXbOLxfGA. It will give you step by step instructions on How To Set Up A Home Theater System. After you try this and you are having any issues with the sound not coming through, please follow this link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DoulsQDeDKI. This video will give you troubleshooting steps that should help resolve the problem. Please let us know if you are still needing assistance after. Thanks! =)

-Amanda Maffei

Sony Support USA
SonyListens is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 03-06-2013, 12:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Amazing that Sony is watching for issues with its equipment and posting solutions. Unfortunately, that posting looks to be generic and is irrelevant to the OP's issue here. The TV lacks analog audio outputs and the receiver lacks digital audio inputs. The receiver also does not support Audio Return Channel over HDMI. So, there is no way to get audio from the TV to the receiver without buying more equipment to do the translations. At that point, you're better off getting a surround system with digital audio inputs... and one that does HD.
BIslander is online now  
post #5 of 14 Old 03-06-2013, 07:50 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
doerun6217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Amanda,

BIslander is right in their post. My home theater system is not ARC capable. There is also no Digital Audio input for the unit. It amazes me that Sony would manufacture some equipment that is not compatible with other Sony equipment. I've been a LONG time Sony fan, but to spend as much on this as I have, I expected it to be compatible. The quality is traditional Sony, but with this issue I'm disappointed. Looks like I'm either going to have to upgrade my home theater system or spend ANOTHER $100 for additional equipment just to make this combo work.

BI, thanks for the info. You were right on!
doerun6217 is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 03-11-2013, 11:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MandM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Kamloops B.C.
Posts: 1,214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
This is why a little research goes a long way.wink.gif
MandM is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 03-12-2013, 04:09 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
doerun6217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess if I didn't have anything better to do than play on the internet I could have researched it better MandM
doerun6217 is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 03-14-2013, 09:17 PM
Member
 
jjtjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't mean to thread jack, but does the Sony Bravia 46" ex645 support audio return channel? I have that exact tv and am having trouble with it. Just let me know if it does or not, and I'll start my own thread if it's supposed to have that feature. Sorry again, I just thought I'd ask someone with the same TV. Thanks.
jjtjp is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 03-14-2013, 10:59 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
doerun6217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jjtjp, when you say audio return exactly what are you referring to?
doerun6217 is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 03-14-2013, 11:02 PM
Member
 
jjtjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Arc. Audio return channel. Where the TV sends audio data out its input HDMI. You referred to it in post 5 is why I asked.
jjtjp is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 03-14-2013, 11:13 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
doerun6217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to all that I've read of this tv, it does support ARC through the HDMI cable IF and only if the unit you have it hooked too is ARC capable. There is also a digital audio output that uses a fiber optic cable that can be used. In my case, my home theater system does not support either ARC or Digital Audio. I'm having to purchase a digital to analog stereo converter and hook my digital audio out from my tv to the converter and from there use RCA cable to go to the audio inputs of the theater system.

No apologies needed for the "thread jack".....its perfectly fine to jump in this one and post. If you can get the correct answers by using this thread that's all good with me. As long as your issues get resolved.
doerun6217 is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 03-14-2013, 11:20 PM
Member
 
jjtjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. My understanding was it supported it too. I just bought a receiver that supports arc thinking the TV did too. I'll start my own thread and see if someone can be of help. Good luck with your situation. How many watts does your amp need to push? I just got a good deal on a denon avr from a4l. Maybe it's time for a new receiver after all?

EDIT: I just realized that its a new ht setup.That is frustrating. Good luck with the converter then.
jjtjp is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 03-14-2013, 11:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 135
ARC only works when it is supported by both devices. That is true of all TVs and sound processors. It it also true that HDMI CEC must be engaged on both devices for ARC to work.

jjtjp - The owners manuals for your equipment will say whether they support ARC and what must be done to make it work.
BIslander is online now  
post #14 of 14 Old 03-14-2013, 11:28 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
doerun6217's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for that input BIslander. I'm hoping that this converter will solve my issue. I'm thinking it will. I'm getting the one that supports Dolby as well. and thanks jjtjp. I hope BIslander answered your question as well. And best of luck with your issue. If there is anything else you need feel free to jump on this thread and ask any questions you have.
doerun6217 is offline  
Reply Audio Theory, Setup, and Chat



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off