Why does simulated 5.1 sounds better/louder than stright 2.0/2.1 ? (Yamaha V373) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 19 Old 03-20-2013, 08:49 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi folks, first of all let me tell you that I'm a noob on this topic (big news):

This is my setup :

XBMC on Windows 8 HTPC (HDMI) > Receiver > LED LG TV

I have a 5.1 setup speakers attached to my receiver.

So, whenever I listen to a stereo song or video and the receiver plays it in straight mode... it sounds softer, less warm, less bass than when I choose the Music 5.1 mode (I guess the receiver makes a 2.0->5.1 conversion).

I don't know if I'm misunderstanding the conception on good and bad sound.. or I just have to adjust volume up every time that I listen to stereo songs...

I've read in many forums that Stereo has to be played as stereo and that's why I would like to listen in straight mode. What do you usually do here? Do you play your stereo songs using your 5.1 speakers or just in straight mode using only your 2 front speakers?

Do you experience the same as me regarding straight mode vs 5.1 when listening to stereo sources?

Do you guys know any guide with tips on how to calibrate a yamaha receiver better???
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old 03-20-2013, 12:50 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 139
when your receiver creates 5.1 channels from 2.0 channels, it doesn't (probably) turn down the stereo program, just adds sound from the other speakers. "adds sound" kinda suggests it'll be louder. Equal loudness curves demonstrate that louder = sounds like more bass. So that may be part of the deal. Also may be the way your particular receiver manufactures the multichannel from the stereo input.

I like (conservatively) creating MC from my stereo discs and I do it most of the time. Others feel that it was mixed in stereo, and should be heard as mixed. I have no beef with that view.