Motherboard 3.5mm analog sound to either digital coax or toslink? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 03-22-2013, 10:57 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
krmarks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone help me solve this:
I have an HTPC I just built and I have this motherboard: http://www.biostar-usa.com/app/en-us/mb/introduction.php?S_ID=615

From the motherboard, I would like to have the sound come out and go into my Sony soundbar: http://store.sony.com/p/HT-CT150/en/p/HTCT150

I have an open Toslink and an open Digital coax. I can't use HDMI sound because I have my PS3 screwing up using the soundbar as a monitor.

So long story short I have 6 analog outs on the motherboard and 1 digital coax or 1 toslink port available. Any suggestions?
krmarks is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 03-22-2013, 11:41 AM
Member
 
intangiblefatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A USB audio interface like the one below would give you an optical output to connect to the sound bar.

http://www.amazon.com/Behringer-UCA202-Audio-Interface/dp/B000KW2YEI/
intangiblefatman is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 03-22-2013, 12:41 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
krmarks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, if I have to go that route, I will probably just buy a PCI card with toslink or coax out. I was hoping to get by with a solution that didn't involve more money since I have a million different cables in my cable/hardware container at home.
krmarks is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 03-22-2013, 12:54 PM
Member
 
scardeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Worst case scenario - 3.5mm to dual RCA analog connection

scardeal is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 03-22-2013, 01:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
SoundChex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: USA, west coast
Posts: 2,686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by krmarks View Post

Can anyone help me solve this:
I have an HTPC I just built and I have this motherboard: http://www.biostar-usa.com/app/en-us/mb/introduction.php?S_ID=615

From the motherboard, I would like to have the sound come out and go into my Sony soundbar: http://store.sony.com/p/HT-CT150/en/p/HTCT150

I have an open Toslink and an open Digital coax. I can't use HDMI sound because I have my PS3 screwing up using the soundbar as a monitor.

So long story short I have 6 analog outs on the motherboard and 1 digital coax or 1 toslink port available. Any suggestions?

Doesn't the Biostar Hi-Fi A85W Ver. 5.x mb also have an internal S/PDIF-OUT Header on the board you could use?
_

[
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
]
"My AV systems were created by man. They evolved. They rebelled. There are many speakers. And they have . . . A PLAN."

SoundChex is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 03-22-2013, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MarkHotchkiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Beach, California
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Hi Krmarks,
Quote:
Originally Posted by krmarks View Post

. . . I have an open Toslink and an open Digital coax.
As SoundChex suggested, there is and S/PDIF output on the motherboard (Toslink and digital-coax are both forms of S/PDIF). So it is simply a matter of getting the right cabling to directly connect the motherboard's S/PDIF output to the Sony's digital-coax.
MarkHotchkiss is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 03-22-2013, 02:48 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
krmarks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes there is a SPDIF header on the board, but how do I utilize it? I am not sure how I hook a toslink up to that.
krmarks is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 03-22-2013, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MarkHotchkiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Long Beach, California
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Hi Krmarks,
Quote:
Originally Posted by krmarks View Post

Yes there is a SPDIF header on the board, but how do I utilize it?
Ten bucks.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Biostar-SPDIF-Digtial-COAX-Audio-Cable-27-K12-033040R5-/221019107039?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3375c3eedf
MarkHotchkiss is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 03-22-2013, 04:04 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
krmarks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thanks Mark, I ordered one. I appreciate it. I hadn't seen that part before, go figure.
krmarks is offline  
Reply Audio theory, Setup and Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off