Sub hookup to older receiver - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 03-31-2013, 03:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dennisdishman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have and older receiver and subwoofer sitting around which I'm trying to hook up. The problem is that the receiver has no dedicated sub output and the sub itself only as a single RCA style plugin for the signal.... Help Please!
dennisdishman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 03-31-2013, 07:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
A9X-308's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Australia; now run by adults.
Posts: 5,147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I'm assuming it's an older 2ch receiver, not an AVR, correct? Does it have a pre-out and power in?
A9X-308 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 04-01-2013, 02:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fbov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bushnell's Basin, NY
Posts: 1,014
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Use one of these
http://www.parts-express.com/term/line-level-converters?c=403

One end attaches to your speakers (perhaps zone 2?), the other to the sub.

Have fun,
Frank
fbov is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 04-01-2013, 02:55 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dennisdishman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks!!!
dennisdishman is offline  
Reply Audio theory, Setup and Chat

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off