Newbie looking for Home Theatre tips - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 10 Old 04-08-2013, 05:29 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently put together a home theatre system and am looking for some advice on how to set it up to get the most out of it.

The receiver is a Harmon Kardon AVR 1700 hooked up to Energy Take Classics 5.1 speakers using 14 guage wire. The TV is a Samsung UN55C6500 LED TV.

I primarily watch programming through my cable set top box and also occasionally watch MKV's through my Western Digital Media Player plus and also HULU through my smart tv app. Everything is connected to the receiver using HDMI cables.

I am extremely new to the whole audio world and seem to be having difficulty setting up the system to deliver the optimal sound majority of the time. I have the center, and two front speakers right by the TV while I have the rear ones mounted about ear level behind the couch. I've also used the calibration mic that came with the receiver and run the EZ Setup on the receiver to calibrate the speakers based on listening position.