Is there a wireless product for this setup? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!

Forum Jump: 
Thread Tools
Old 04-12-2013, 09:40 AM - Thread Starter
r3zon8's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I want to move the amplifier driving my L/C/R awat from the receiver. Im using my receiver as a pseudo 'pre pro' so the only cables going from the receiver to the amplifier are the 3 RCA interconnects for the L/C/R channels.

At the moment, the setup looks like this:

L>........3ft male to male RCA.......< AMP L
C>........3ft male to male RCA.......< AMP C
R>........3ft male to male RCA.......< AMP R
pretty standard setup.

Since i want to move the amp far awar from the receiver i have 2 options:

1. REALLY long Male to Male RCA Cables: This is pretty much out of the question due to room layout and feasibility.

2. I use 'wireless interconnects'?

Can this be done? what products do this?
r3zon8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Old 04-12-2013, 09:45 PM
AVS Special Member
crn3371's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,099
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Never heard of anything that could do that.
crn3371 is offline  
Old 04-13-2013, 12:45 AM
AVS Special Member
Tulpa's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Yeah, I don't think there's anything for line level, at least not that I've seen. There are (were?) a couple of products to send signals from a receiver to speakers (usually surround speakers) wirelessly, but it used its own integrated amplifier. I suppose you could convert it back to line level and then amp it, but it would be such a kludge that I can't think that sound quality wouldn't take a big hit.

I'm curious to see a setup that would need the amp placed somewhere else. Usually an amp is with the other components and speaker wires are run to whereever you need them.

Don't believe everything on the Interwebz! A duck's quack DOES echo!
Tulpa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off